American Society for Legal History

The American Society for Legal History is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to fostering scholarship, teaching, and study concerning the law and institutions of all legal systems, both Anglo-American and international. Founded in 1956, the Society sponsors Law and History Review and Studies in Legal History, a series of book-length monographs available to ASLH members at substantial discounts. In addition, the Society holds an annual meeting to promote scholarship and interaction among scholars, practitioners, and students interested in legal history, and maintains a website (http://www.aslh.net) reporting developments in the field. For further information concerning the Society, please write: Sally Hadden, Department of History, Western Michigan University, 4301 Friedmann Hall, Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5334, USA.

To become a member of the Society or to renew your membership please complete, print out, and mail the following form to: Cambridge University Press, Attention: Customer Services, One Liberty Plaza, Floor 20, New York, NY 10006, USA; or print it out and fax it to: 845-353-4141.

	Men	nbership	Appli	cation			
Please check appropriate members	ship belo	w:					
Regular Member, with an annual	income						
below \$50,000	\$	66.00	_		Student Member	\$	25.00
\$50,000 - \$75,000	\$	77.00			Emeritus	\$	100.00
\$75,000 - \$100,000	\$	88.00			Life Member	\$ 2	2,000.00
\$100,000 - \$125,000	\$	99.00			Sponsor	\$	250.00
\$125,000 - \$150,000	\$	110.00	-		Institution	\$	175.00
\$150,000 and above	\$	200.00					
(The Society no longer accepts instion a subscriber to <i>Law and Histo</i> Membership fees must be paid in	ory Revie	ew.)					
American Express charge. Question	ons? Cal	l Cambrid	ge Univ	ersity P	ress at 1-800-872-74	123.	
	Visa/MC/Amex:						
Name on card:	Exp. Date:						
Signature:							
Name:							
Institution:							
Address:							
City:	State:				Zip:		
Country (if not the US):							
Phone (Home):	(Office):						
Fax:	E-m	ail:					



OFFICERS, 2022

Michael Willrich Brandeis University President Barbara Welke University of Minnesota President-Elect

Lauren Benton Yale University Past President David Tanenhaus University of Nevada, Las Vegas Treasurer

Ari Bryen

Vanderbilt University

Secretary

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Rabia Belt Stanford Law School

Lauren Benton

(Immediate Past President)
Yale University

Maggie Blackhawk New York University

Laura Edwards
Princeton University

Lisa Ford University of New South Wales Ariela Gross

University of Southern California School of Law

Taja-Nia Y. Henderson Rutgers Law School Daniel Hulsebosch

New York University School of Law

Kelly Kennington Auburn University Michael Lobban

London School of Economics

Richard J. Ross University of Illinois Lucy Salyer

University of New Hampshire

Sarah Seo

Columbia University Law School

Katharina Schmidt

(graduate student representative)

Princeton University

Elizabeth Thornberry Johns Hopkins University

Mary Ziegler

Florida State University College of Law

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

Dan Ernst, Chair Georgetown University

Gregory Ablavsky Stanford University Binyamin Blum

University of California, Hastings College of Law

Holly Brewer (ex officio, Co-editor, Studies in Legal History), University of Maryland

Sarah Barringer Gordon (ex officio, Co-editor, Studies in Legal History), University of Pennsylvania Craig Joyce

(ex officio, Co-chair, History of the Society), University of Houston

Michael Lobban

(ex officio, Co-editor, Studies in Legal History), London School of Economics, University of London

Cynthia Nicoletti University of Virginia Nathan Perl-Rosenthal

University of Southern California

Gautham Rao (ex officio, Editor, Law and History Review), American University Reuel Schiller

(ex officio, Co-editor, Studies in Legal History), University of California, Hastings College of Law

David Tanenhaus (ex officio, Treasurer), University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Nurfadzilah Yahaya National University of Singapore

Charles Zelden (ex officio, Co-chair, History of the Society), Nova Southeastern University

HONORARY FELLOWS OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR LEGAL HISTORY

Morris S. Arnold
Víctor Tau Anzoátegui
J.H. Baker
Mary Frances Berry
Paul Brand
Jane Burbank
Raoul C. Van Caenegem
Ennio Cortese
Natalie Zemon Davis
Charles Donahue
Shaunnagh Dorsett
Mary L. Dudziak
Lawrence M. Friedman

Robert W. Gordon Annette Gordon-Reed Philip Girard Paolo Grossi Hendrik Hartog Douglas Hay R. H. Helmholz António Manuel Hespanha Morton J. Horwitz Harold M. Hyman Laura Kalman Stanley N. Katz Linda K. Kerber Bruce Kercher Diane Kirkby Martti Koskeniemmi Peter Landau Anne Lefebvre-Teillard Hector L. MacQueen John McLaren Kjell Modéer Sally Falk Moore William E. Nelson John T. Noonan, Jr. Robert C. Palmer John Phillip Reid Susan Reynolds Bernd Rüthers Harry N. Scheiber Joan Wallach Scott Rebecca J. Scott Reva Siegel Michael Stolleis David Sugarman Christopher Tomlins W. A. J. Watson James Q. Whitman David V. Williams

Cambridge Core

For further information about this journal please go to the journal website at: **cambridge.org/lhr**



CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS