Association News

Sixty-Fifth Annual Meeting

The 1969 Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association was held at the Commodore, Roosevelt and Biltmore Hotels, New York City, September 2-6. Participation reached new high points, with over 4100 registrants and almost 300 papers delivered.

Annual Business Meeting

The Annual Business Meeting was conducted in three sessions in 1969. The Wednesday afternoon session was attended by about 750 persons, and actions taken included the adoption of the amendments to the APSA Constitution recommended by the Council for election of officers by a mail ballot to the membership, and for future referral of all Constitutional amendments supported by 40% of those present at a Business Meeting to the membership by mail ballot. Thus the 1969 elections were conducted by mail, administered by the American Arbitration Association which also administered each of the Annual Business Meeting sessions. (Election results are included in this issue.)

The Wednesday evening session, attended by about 850 people, referred the proposed amendment to require a mail ballot for resolutions of the Annual Business Meeting, to the Constitutional Revision Committee, which will report in 1970. The Thursday evening session adopted resolutions supporting equal treatment of women in the profession, abolishing the Congressional Distinguished Service Award, and referring a statement by the Black Caucus to the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession.

(The Constitution, as amended by the 1969 Meeting, follows this article Official minutes of the Annual Business Meeting will be included in a subsequent issue.)

The Presidential Address, by outgoing President David Easton, University of Chicago, was entitled "The New Revolution in Political Science." It will be published in the December *Review*. Incoming President Karl Deutsch, President-Elect in 1968-69, assumed his office at the close of the Annual Meeting.

Awards

Robert G. Dixon, Jr., George Washington University, received the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Book Award for the best book published in the United States in 1969 on government, politics or international affairs. He is the author of *Democratic Representation*, a study of legislative reapportionment in the United States, published by Oxford University Press. The award carries a \$1,000 prize. The committee which selected the winner was composed of J. David Singer, University of Michigan, chairman; Richard E. Flathman, University of Chicago; and Gladys M. Kammerer, University of Florida.

The Pi Sigma Alpha Award, for the best paper presented at the 1968 Annual Meeting, went to Gerald H. Kramer, Yale University, for the paper "Short-Term Fluctuations in U.S. Voting Behavior, 1896-1964."

The Edward S. Corwin Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted in 1967 in the field of public law, broadly defined, went to James P. Levine for "The Bookseller and the Law of Obscenity: Toward an Empirical Theory of Free Expression," submitted by Northwestern University.

The Leonard D. White Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1968 within the general field of public administration, was made to Russell Murphy for "Policy Innovation and Political Strategy in an American City: The Formative Years of New Haven, Connecticut's Anti-Poverty Project," submitted by Yale University.

Committees for these awards were composed of the following members: Pi Sigma Alpha Award, Chairman, John W. Chapman, University of Pittsburgh; Thomas R. Dye, Florida State University; and Martin Kilson, Harvard University; Edward S. Corwin Award, Chairman, Alpheus T. Mason, Princeton University; Alan F. Westin, Columbia University; and Glendon A. Schubert, York University; Leonard D. White Award, Chairman, Lloyd I. Rudolph, University of Chicago; John P. Crecine, University of Michigan; and Kenneth M. Dolbeare, University of Wisconsin.