THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: A. J. GUTTMANN Department of Mathematics

and Statistics

The University of Melbourne

VIC 3010

Secretary: E. J. BILLINGTON Department of Mathematics

The University of Queensland

Brisbane, QLD 4072

Treasurer: A. HOWE Department of Mathematics

Mathematical Sciences Institute The Australian National University

Canberra ACT 0200

Membership subscriptions

(for 2003)

Ordinary members: A\$88 New ordinary members: A\$44

Reciprocal members: A\$44 Reduced rate members: A\$22 Sustaining members: A\$176

Institutional members: A\$1118 (all publications included)

Reciprocity agreements: Such agreements have been made with a number of other mathematical societies. Under the agreements, members of the other societies who are not normally resident in Australia may join the Australian Mathematical Society at the rate shown.

Membership and correspondence: Applications for membership, notice of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's GAZETTE, JOURNAL, THE ANZIAM JOURNAL, BULLETIN, and orders for back numbers should also be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

Members of the Society receive copies of the GAZETTE free, and may subscribe to any of the Society's research publications, the JOURNAL for A\$57.20 (A\$52) per year, THE ANZIAM JOURNAL A\$50.60 (A\$46) per year, the BULLETIN A\$53.90 (A\$49). (The prices in brackets are exclusive of GST and apply only to overseas members. Journals currently only available in print format to members.)

OTHER PUBLICATIONS OF THE SOCIETY

THE ANZIAM JOURNAL, formerly known as the JOURNAL (Series B), contains papers on applied mathematics. It is published in volumes comprising four parts, starting with Volume XIX Part 1, 1975. Four parts will be published in 2003. For prices to non-members see http://www.austms.org.au/Publ/. Typescripts for publications should be sent to the Editor, Associate Professor C. E. M. PEARCE, Department of Applied Mathematics, The University of Adelaide, SA 5005, Australia.

The *BULLETIN* of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. It aims at quick publication of original research in all branches of mathematics. Two volumes of three numbers are published annually.

For prices to non-members seek http://www.austms.org.au/Publ/. Each paper for publication should include an abstract and a 1991 Mathematics Subject Classification. Three copies of the typescript should be sent to the Editorial Office, Bulletin, Australian Mathematical Society, Department of Mathematics, The University of Queensland, QLD 4072, Australia.

The GAZETTE started publication in 1974 and carries news items, mathematical articles of general interest, and articles on tertiary mathematics teaching. For prices to non-members see http://www.austms.org.au/Publ/. Typescripts for publication should be sent to the Editors, Dr J. R. GILES and Mr. W. P. GALVIN, School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Building V, The University of Newcastle, NSW 2308, Australia.

Editor of the Journal

C. F. Miller III

Department of Mathematics and Statistics, The University of Melbourne, VIC 3010

Associate Editors

W. W. L. Chen—number theory,Department of Mathematics,Division of ICS,Macquarie University,NSW 2109

B. A. Davey—universal algebras,
School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences,
La Trobe University,
Bundoora, VIC 3083

A. H. Dooley—harmonic analysis, Lie groups, School of Mathematics, The University of New South Wales, Sydney, NSW 2052

J. Du—algebra and representation theory, School of Mathematics, The University of New South Wales, Sydney, NSW 2052

 D. Easdown—semigroups, computational algebra,
 School of Mathematics and Statistics,
 The University of Sydney,
 Sydney, NSW 2006 P. C. Fenton—complex analysis, Department of Mathematics, The University of Otago, P.O. Box 56, Dunedin, New Zealand

A. S. Gadde—low dimension topology, geometric group theory Department of Mathematics and Statistics The University of Melbourne VIC 3010

 C. D. Hodgson—geometry and topology
 Department of Mathematics and Statistics
 The University of Melbourne
 VIC 3010

King-Fai Lai—automorphic forms School of Mathematics and Statistics The University of Sydney NSW 2006

E. A. O'Brien—group theory and computational algebra, Department of Mathematics, The University of Auckland, Private Bag 92019, Auckland, New Zealand A. J. Pryde—functional analysis,
 Department of Mathematics and Statistics,
 Monash University,
 Clayton, VIC 3168

M. Sniedovich—operations research,
Department of Mathematics and Statistics,
The University of Melbourne,
VIC 3010

V. Stefanov—probability and statistics, Department of Mathematics, The University of Western Australia, Nedlands, WA 6009

G. Willis—operator and Banach algebras, abstract analysis, Department of Mathematics, The University of Newcastle, Newcastle, NSW 2308

 K. Wysocki—geometrical analysis and partial differential equations,
 Department of Mathematics and Statistics,
 The University of Melbourne,
 VIC 3010

Production Editor

J. J. Koliha,
Department of Mathematics
and Statistics,
The University of Melbourne,
VIC 3010

Technical Editor

Beata Wysocka,
Department of Mathematics
and Statistics,
The University of Melbourne,
VIC 3010

Correspondence concerning the printing of papers after their acceptance for publication should be addressed to J. J. Koliha.

Copyright Statement

Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., to libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 27 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., c/- Mathematics Department, Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia. Serial-fee code: 1446-7887/03 \$A2.00 + 0.00.