Broder, Moynihan, Peltason Receive APSA Awards at Chicago Meeting

Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan (D-NY), David S. Broder, political writer for the *Washington Post*, and Jack W. Peltason, president of the American Council on Education, were among those honored at the 79th Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association. The meeting was held September 1-4 at the Palmer House in Chicago.

Senator Moynihan received the first Hubert H. Humphrey Award, an award to be presented annually "in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist." The citation noted that Moynihan's career is "a remarkable combination of service to the academy and to the nation. To his public service he has brought a freshness of thought and an intellectual independence that best exemplifies the uses of knowledge in the public service. He has also brought both to the academy and to public life a wit and exuberance that are rare in both."

Broder received the second annual Carey McWilliams Award, presented "to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics." The award citation stated that Mr. Broder "has been a major source of information about and analysis of all aspects of the American political system. His judgments and syntheses are lucid and penetrating. . . . He has become a guardian of the integrity of the major political institutions of this land. . . . David Broder provides us with invaluable knowledge and, at the same time, helps to distill and disseminate what we have learned."

Peltason received the Charles E. Merriam Award, presented annually to "the person whose published work and career represents a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research." Peltason was cited not only for his "excellence in teaching and scholarship" but also, for his role as President of the American Council on Education since 1977, in which "he has helped higher education to understand itself and to re-



New York Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan addresses fellow political scientists upon receipt of the Hubert H. Humphrey Award for "notable public service by a political scientist."



Washington Post columnist and reporter David Broder praises the close relationship between political scientists and journalists as he receives the Carey McWilliams Award for "a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics."



Thomas Dye of Florida State University (left) presents the Charles E. Merriam Award to Jack Peltason, president of the American Council on Education.

affirm the values of academic freedom and integrity."

Other award winners were:

G. Bingham Powell, University of Rochester, the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award for "the best book published in the U.S. during 1982 on government, politics or international affairs" for *Contemporary Democracies: Participation, Stability and Violence,* Harvard University Press.

John A. Armstrong, University of Wisconsin, for Nations Before Nationalism, University of North Carolina Press, and Orlando Patterson, Harvard University, for Slavery and Social Death: A Comparative Study, Harvard University Press, co-winners of the Ralph J. Bunche Award for "the best scholarly work in political science published in 1981 or 1982 which explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism."

Duncan Black, Cambridge, England, for

724 PS Fall 1983

The Theory of Committees and Elections, Cambridge University Press, 1958, the Benjamin E. Lippincott Award for "a work of exceptional quality by a living political theorist that is still considered significant after a time span of at least fifteen years since the original publication."

Robert A. Dahl, Yale University, for Dilemmas of Pluralist Democracy: Autonomy vs. Control, Yale University Press, and Mancur Olson, University of Maryland, for The Rise and Decline of Nations: Economic Growth, Stagflation, and Social Rigidities, Yale University Press, co-winners of the Gladys M. Kammerer Award for "the best political science publication in 1982 in the field of U.S. national policy."

Jennifer Hochschild, Princeton University, for "Incrementalism, Pluralism and the Failure of School Desegregation," and Kaare Strom, Stanford University, for "Minority Government and Majority Rule," co-winners of the Franklin L. Burdette Pi Sigma Alpha Award for "the best paper presented at the 1982 Annual Meeting."

Additional awards and recipients were:

Gabriel A. Almond Award for "the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1981 or 1982 in the field of comparative politics"—Miriam A. Golden, Cornell University, "Austerity and Its Opposition: Italian Working Class Politics in the 1970s."

Edward S. Corwin Award for "the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1981 or 1982 in the field of public law"—Mark Silverstein, Cornell University, "Liberalism, Democracy, and the Court: Felix Frankfurter, Hugo Black, and Constitutional Decision-Making."

Helen Dwight Reid Award for "the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1981 or 1982 in the field of American government—Thomas M. Wolf, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, "Congressional Sea Change: Conflict and Organizational Accommodation in the House of Representatives 1878-1921."

Leo Strauss Award for "the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1981 or 1982 in the field of political philosophy"—Wayne Ambler, Boston College, "Aristotle on the Naturalness of the City."

Leonard D. White Award for "the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1981 or 1982 in the general field of public administration, including broadly related problems of policy formation and administrative theory"— John Swain, Northern Illinois University, "An Evaluation of the Public Choice Approach to Structuring Local Government in Metropolitan Areas."

A complete listing of the awards and citations is contained in the *PS* Appendix. \Box

Chicago Annual Meeting Draws Large Crowd

This year's annual meeting held in Chicago, September 1-4, was the second best-attended APSA conference in a



Deborah Lawson (right) of Stanford University receives the Helen Dwight Reid Award from Margaret Hermann of Ohio State University. Lawson's dissertation, "Belief and Inference: The Origins of American Leaders' Cold War Ideology," was named the best doctoral dissertation of 1981 or 1982 in the field of international relations, law and politics.

decade, as the accompanying chart indicates. With 2,859 registrants, attendance in 1983 was 30 percent above last year's meeting in Denver.

The official program was organized by APSA's Program Committee chaired by Herbert Weisberg. The 416 panels at the annual meeting included those APSA organized or jointly sponsored and courtesy listings of unaffiliated groups. Also, for the first time an official APSA Organized Section, Administration, Organizations and Executives, arranged a separate group of 14 panels.

In addition, there were three plenary sessions held on successive evenings. On the first evening APSA awards were presented for outstanding scholarship, and President William Riker delivered his presidential address. Weisberg presided over the awards ceremony and introduced Riker. With 281 in attendance, this first plenary session was by far the