REPORT

OF THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

The 1967 Annual Meeting of the Australian Mathematical Society will be held at the Australian National University, Canberra, from May 29th to June 2nd 1967. Accommodation will be at Bruce Hall. The organising committee consists of Professor Hanna Neuman (Convenor), Dr M. A. Ward (Honorary Secretary), and Professor A. Brown (Honorary Treasurer).

Members are reminded that the following subscriptions rates are applicable from 1st January 1967: ordinary members \$A 12.00 (reduced subscription \$A 5.00), reciprocal members \$A 6.00, institutional members \$A 50.00 (minimum).

The Council of the Society has filled the vacancy caused by the death of H. C. Levey, by electing A. F. Pillow as Vice-President and J. P. O. Silberstein as an ordinary member of Council.

At its last meeting the Council of the Society decided to form an Australian Mathematical Society Library Cooperation Committee, whose task would be to seek as far as possible a full coverage in Australia of mathematical periodicals.

We record with deep regret the death of Emeritus Professor Sir Thomas Cherry, F.A.A., F.R.S., the foundation chairman of the Society.

Under the provisions of the Constitution the following members have been elected by the Council:

Ordinary Members

Mr L. C. Debnam	Mr M. Smith
Dr E. W. Ellers	Dr N. F. Smythe
Mr S. R. Gerig	Mr W. L. Steiger
Mr P. G. Laird	Mr J. W. Stephenson
Dr Sheila Macdonald	Dr L. J. Tassie
Dr J. Mazumdar	Dr J. N. Whiteley
Mr A. G. Pakes	Mr N. H. Williams

Reciprocal Members

Dr R. P. Soni (American Mathematical Society)

Mr R. Chowdhury (Deutsche Mathematiker Vereinigung)

Resignations have been received from the following:

P. R. Wilson
R. J. Smith
A. Learner
D. J. Richardson
E. Rahman
N. G. Gupta

10 April

C. J. F. Upton, Honorary Secretary