Association News



Fred Holborn and Judith N. Shklar at APSA Council reception honoring the IPSA Executive Committee.

German Marshall Fund Travel Grantees Wolfgang Reinicke, West Germany; Yale University

Thomas Faist, West Germany; The New School for Social Research

Judith N. Shklar Elected President-Elect

Judith N. Shklar of Harvard University has been elected to serve as presidentelect of the APSA for 1988-89 and will assume the office of president in 1989-90.

Shklar was elected by acclamation at the Annual APSA Business Meeting on September 3 in Washington, DC, thus setting the stage for her to become the first woman president in the 86-year history of the Association.

At the same meeting, Murray Edelman, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Robert Jervis, Columbia University; and Martin Shapiro, University of California-Berkeley, were elected vice-presidents for 1988-89. Daniel Elazar, Temple University, was elected secretary for 1988-89.

The eight new members of the 16-member Council elected to serve a twoyear term (1988-90) are: Christopher Achen, University of Chicago; Kathleen Francovic, CBS News; Peter A. Gourevitch, University of California, San Diego; Ted Robert Gurr, University of Colorado; Ronald Kahn, Oberlin College; Barbara Nelson, University of Minnesota; Adolph Reed, Jr., Yale University; and Donald Searing, University of North Carolina.

Continuing their 1987-89 terms are: William Bacchus, U.S. Department of State; Donald Kinder, University of Michigan; Jane Mansbridge, Northwestern University; Dianne Pinderhughes, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret E. Scranton, University of Arkansas-Little Rock; Mary L. Shanley, Vassar College; Richard A. Watson, University of Missouri; and Aristide Zolberg, The New School for Social Research.

Nominating Committee Welcomes Suggestions

APSA's Nominating Committee, chaired by Bernard C. Cohen, University of Wisconsin–Madison, seeks suggestions for nominees to APSA offices.

The Committee will make nominations for eight Council persons, as well as the offices of secretary, treasurer, vice presidents (three positions), and president-elect. The Committee will meet in late February in Washington and report to the President no later than April 15.

'Members of the nominating committee are:

Lucius Barker, Department of Government, Littauer Center, Rm. 318, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA 02138.

Bernard C. Cohen, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Dr., University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI 53706.

Jennifer Hochschild, Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, 202 Junipero Serra Boulevard, Stanford, CA 94305.

Herbert Jacob, Department of Political Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60201.