## ANNOUNCEMENT

Recent Opinions published on 23 June 1989 in *Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature* (Vol. 46, Pt. 1) included the following:

Opinion 1536.—Sorites Ehrenberg, 1839 (Foraminiferida): Nautilus orbiculus Forskål, 1775, designated as the type species.

Opinion 1537. – *Discocyclina* Gümbel, 1870 (Foraminiferida): Orbitolites prattii Michelin, 1847, designated as the type species.

Opinion 1539.—Conus floridana Gabb, 1869 (Mollusca, Gastropoda): not to be given precedence over Conus anabathrum Crosse, 1865.

Opinion 1540.—Avicula gryphaeoides J. de C. Sowerby, 1836 (Mollusca, Bivalvia): specific name conserved.

Opinion 1541.—Loxoconchella Triebel, 1954 (Crustacea, Ostracoda): Loxoconcha honoluliensis Brady, 1880, confirmed as the type species.

Recent Applications published on 23 June 1989 in the *Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature* (Vol. 46, Pt. 2) included the following:

Marssonopora Lang, 1914 (Bryozoa, Cheilostomata): proposed designation of Membranipora densipina Levinson, 1925, as the type species.

Valanginites Sayn in Kilian, 1910 (Cephalopoda, Ammonoidea): confirmation of the author of the genus and of Ammonites nucleus Roemer, 1841, as its type species.

POLYGYRIDAE Pilsbry, 1894 (Mollusca, Gastropoda): proposed precedence over MESODON-TIDAE Tryon, 1866.

Trapezia Latreille, 1828 (Crustacea, Decapoda): proposed conservation.

The Commission would welcome comments and advice on the applications. The Commission's address is: Executive Secretary, I.C.Z.N., British Museum (Natural History), Cromwell Road, London SW7 5BD, UNITED KINGDOM.

ANNOUNCEMENT

## CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR NEW MEMBERS OF THE INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION ON ZOOLOGICAL NOMENCLATURE

The following members of the Commission reach the end of their terms of service at the close of the XXIV General Assembly of the International Union of Biological Sciences to be held in Amsterdam, in July 1991: Dr. H. G. Cogger (Australia, Herpetology); Prof. Dr. O. Kraus (Fed. Rep. Germany, Arachnology); Dr. M. Mroczkowski (Poland, Coleoptera); Dr. W. D. L. Ride (Australia, Mammalia). A further vacancy arises from the resignation of Dr. G. C. Gruchy (Canada, Ichthyology).

The addresses and specialist fields of the present members of the Commission may be found in the *Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature*, 46(1) (March 1989). Under Article 3b of the Commission's Constitution a member whose term of service has terminated is not eligible for immediate re-election unless the Council of the Commission has decided to the contrary.

The Commission now invites nominations, by any person or institution, of candidates for membership. Article 2b of the Constitution prescibes that:

'The members of the Commission shall be eminent scientists, irrespective of nationality, with a distinguished record in any branch of zoology, who are known to have an interest in zoological nomenclature.'

(It should be noted that 'zoology' here includes the applied biological sciences (medicine, agriculture, etc.) which use zoological names.)

Nominations made since September 1987 will be reconsidered automatically and need not be repeated. Additional nominations, giving the date of birth, nationality and qualifications (by the criteria mentioned above) of each candidate should be sent by 15 June 1990 to: *The Executive Secretary, International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature,* % British Museum (Natural History), Cromwell Road, London SW7 5BD, U.K.