BULLETIN

OF THE

BRITISH SOCIETY

FOR THE

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

May, 1954

No. 10

VOL. 1

CONTENTS		PAGE
PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS (1953) BY DR. F. SHERWOOD TAYLOR		239
Abstract of Paper by Dr. Heywood		246
PROCEEDINGS AT MEETINGS, JUNE 1953 TO MARCH 1954		247
NOTICE: VISIT TO LONGLEAT		249
OBITUARY: ROBERT STEWART WHIPPLE		249
REVIEWS: AUGUSTINE TO GALILEO	***	251
CARDANO, THE GAMBLING SCHOLAR	***	251
Isis. Vol. 44 (Parts 1 & 2, 3, 4)		252
PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP		253
Report for Year 1953-54		253
FORMATION OF NORTHERN BRANCH		254
Abstract of Inaugural Address by Professor L. Rosenfeld	***	255
Abstract of Paper by Dr. Mary Hesse		257

OFFICERS AND COUNCIL

PRESIDENT

Dr. H. HAMSHAW THOMAS, M.B.E., F.R.S.

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE Prof. HEBBERT DINGLE Prof. L. ROSENFELD Dr. CHARLES SINGER

Prof. J. R. PARTINGTON, M.B.E.

HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq. Ravensmead, Keston, Kent.

HONORARY TREASURER

DR. H. R. CALVERT

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

Dr. Angus Armitage J. A. Chaldecott, Esq. Dr. R. S. Clay Dr. A. R. Hall Dr. N. H. DE V. Heathcote Dr. H. Heywood Dr. E. J. Holmyard Thomas Martin, Esq. Prof. Eva G. R. Taylor Dr. F. Sherwood Taylor Dr. E. Ashworth Underwood Dr. G. J. Whitbow

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

CHAIRMAN

VICE-CHAIRMAN

L. L. WHYTE, Esq.

Prof. K. R. POPPER

HONORARY SECRETARY (Acting)

Dr. J. O. WISDOM London School of Economics, London, W.C.2.

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

Dr. E. H. HUTTEN Prof. R. O. KAPP F. J. WITHERS, Esq.

Editor of the Bulletin

Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE, Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £3 3s. 0d., or £1 1s. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year; Members paying £3 3s. 0d. receive Annals of Science.

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved by the Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the Group may obtain the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science for the reduced annual subscription of £1 2s. 0d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.

Published by The Society.