BULLETIN

OF THE

BRITISH SOCIETY

FOR THE

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

1	March, 1951	N	lo.
	CONTENTS		
		PAGE	
	THE POSSIBLE INFLUENCE OF EARLY EIGHTEENTH CENTURY SCIENTIFIC LITERATURE ON JONATHAN HULLS, A PIONEER OF		
	STEAM NAVIGATION, BY LEONARD G. HULLS, Esq	105	
	Abstracts of Papers :		
	DESCARTES' CONTRIBUTIONS TO OPTICS, BY DR. J. F. SCOTT	109	
	SIR H. T. DE LA BECHE, BY DR. F. J. NORTH	111	
	Proceedings at Meetings	112	
	OBITUARY NOTICE: Dr. HERMAN SHAW	114	
	Book Reviews	115	
	BIBLIOGRAPHY: 1947-48 (COMPLETED)	117	
	List of Members on 1st January, 1951	119	
	PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP SUPPLEMENT No. 4		
	Abstracts of Papers: Discussion on Some Philosophical Problems of Cosmology	127	

OFFICERS AND COUNCIL

1950 - 1951

PRESIDENT

Professor J. R. PARTINGTON, M.B.E.

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Prof. HERBERT BUTTERFIELD

Dr. CHARLES SINGER

Dr. D. McKIE

Dr. H. HAMSHAW THOMAS, F.R.S.

Dr. CHARLES E. RAVEN

Dr. E. ASHWORTH UNDERWOOD

HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq.

HONORARY TREASURER

Dr. F. A. FREETH, O.B.E., F.R.S.

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

Dr. H. P. BAYON Dr. A. C. CROMBIE THOMAS MARTIN, Esq. Dr. S. F. MASON

Prof. HERBERT DINGLE

Dr. Joseph Needham, F.R.S.

V. A. EYLES, Esq. Dr. DOROTHY FEYER Dr. F. J. NORTH Prof. L. ROSENFELD

Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE

ROBERT S. WHIPPLE, Esq.

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

CHAIRMAN

VICE-CHAIRMAN

Prof. J. H. WOODGER

Prof. H. DINGLE

HONORARY SECRETARY

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

F. I. G. RAWLINS, Esq. Dr. G. J. WHITROW L. L. WHYTE, Esq.

Editor of the Bulletin,

Dr. N. H. de V. Heathcote, Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

Communications for the Philosophy of Science Group Supplement should be addressed to Dr. A. C. Crombie, Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £1 Is. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year.

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved by the Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.

Published by The Society, 10, Exhibition Read, South Kensington, London, S.W.7. Telephone: KENsington 8806