#### **Association News**

It is impossible to know if the activities of the APSA committee had any direct effect on the outcome of the Sesejl case. From what we have learned from other cases, the Association's activities are noticed. The violators of academic freedom and human rights prefer the shadows and ignorance; whatever publicity and understanding the committee's efforts generate makes the oppressors' job that much harder.

(Note: Information in this article was gleaned from various reports but most expecially from Helsinki Watch, ''Urgent Action: Yugoslavia,'' May 23, 1984.)

## APSA International Human Rights Case Activity

Faculty members and students of political science faculties may learn of violations of academic freedom and human rights involving political scientists. The Committee on Professional Ethics, Rights and Freedoms encourages you to report this information to it so that it may investigate the case. In the past the Committee's human rights activities have been expanded by members of the profession reporting on the fates of colleagues and former students in their homelands.

### Foreign Students Attend 1986 APSA Meeting With Grant Support

Through funds provided by the Institute for International Education, several foreign graduate students studying political science in the U.S. were given grants to help pay their travel expenses to the 1986 Annual Meeting. Listed below are the recipients with their country of origin and current institution.

Hans-Georg Betz, West Germany; MIT.

Alasdair Olav Bowie, New Zealand; University of California.

**Agber A. Dimha,** Nigeria; Washington State University.

Howard Gold, Canada; Yale University.

**Cheng-Tian Kuo,** Taiwan; University of Chicago.

**Tse-min Lin,** Taiwan; University of Minnesota.

Samo A. Ofeish, Lebanon; University of Southern California.

Chan Wook Park, Korea; University of Iowa.

**Sylvia Pinal-Calvillo,** Mexico; University of Arizona.

Victoria Pinpin, Philippines; University of Hawaii.

Antonio Carlos Pojo do Rego, Brazil; New York State University.

Yann-huei Song, Taiwan; Kent State University.

**Eswaran Sridharan,** India; University of Pennsylvania.

**Hyung Yang,** Korea; University of Houston.

Emilio Zebadva, Mexico; Harvard University.

# APSA Awards Research Grants for 1986-87

The APSA Research Support Committee reviewed 56 applications for the 1986-87 Research Grant Awards. The committee was authorized to spend \$12,000 for the program. To be eligible for a grant, applicants must be APSA members and must either be a faculty member from a non-Ph.D.-granting college or university or be a political scientist not affiliated with an academic institution. Funds are used for research deemed to address a significant problem in political science.

The Selection Committee consisted of Elinor Ostrom, University of Indiana; Jeanne Nienaber Clarke, University of Arizona; Allan Kornberg, Duke University; Huey Perry, Southern University; Richard F. Winters, Dartmouth College; and Susanne Rudolph, University of Chicago.

Following are the recipients with their

#### 72 PS Winter 1987