NOTES AND REVIEWS

NEW REGULATIONS CONCERNING SCIENTIFIC WORK IN GREENLAND, 1949

[From Kundgorelser vedrørende Grønlands Styrelse, 1949, Nr. 2, p. 143.]

Translation:

"Kommissionen for videnskabelige undersøgelser i Grønland [The Committee for Scientific Investigations in Greenland] at their meeting on 28 March 1949 have decided the following:

"1. The Committee considers that *all* applications for permission to carry out scientific work in Greenland should be laid before the Committee before the administration makes a decision concerning the application.

"2. In future, where requests for permission to work in Greenland from foreign scientists are concerned, the Committee will consider the following points when deciding whether to give their approval:

"(a) The Committee will only give their approval if the applicant is a scientist who is suitably qualified, and if he has received support for his application from the appropriate scientific institutions in his own country.

"(b) Approval will not be given in cases where the proposed programme would duplicate work that is being carried out by Danish scientists in Greenland, or where Danish work can be expected within a reasonable period on the scientific problems stated in the application.

"(c) Without otherwise wishing to make any distinction between the countries from which applications are made the Committee wish to point out that applications from other Scandinavian countries will probably receive more favourable consideration."

APPOINTMENT OF A PLACE-NAME COMMITTEE FOR GREENLAND, 1949

[From Tjenestemeddelelser vedrorende Gronlands Styrelse, 1949, Nr. 2, p. 79, and Kundgorelser vedrorende Gronlands Styrelse, 1949, Nr. 2, p. 144.

Translation:

"The Prime Minister has appointed a Place-name Committee for Greenland, 11 April 1949.

"The following members have been appointed:

Directør Eske Brun, chairman. Professor dr.phil. N. E. Nørlund, Geodætisk institut. Oberst L. Bruhn, Geodætisk institut. Kaptajn S. Wedell-Wedellsborg, Geodætisk institut. Docent dr.phil. Erik Holtved. Kontorchef Gunnar Knudsen. Dr.phil. Lauge Koch. Lektor, provst Aage Bugge. Provst C. Schultz-Lorentzen."

P R

Translation:

"1. A place-name committee for Greenland is hereby set up, the members of which are appointed by the Prime Minister.

"2. The committee will consider all existing place-names in Greenland and authorise each in the form which is agreed by the members of the committee.

"3. Every proposal for naming a feature in Greenland must be submitted with the relevant information to the committee, which will decide whether the proposed name shall be authorised.

"4. The notice of 1 February 1934 concerning the appointment of a placename committee for Greenland and naming of Greenland features is hereby cancelled.

"Statsministeriet, Grønlands Styrelse, 11 April 1949."

THE REVISED DANISH ORTHOGRAPHY, 1948

[The information concerning Danish orthographic changes is summarised from Kundgorelser vedrorende Gronlands Styrelse, 1948, Nr. 3, p. 49-52; Nr. 5, p. 70.]

In March 1948 the Danish Ministry of Education introduced a revised orthography for use in all establishments under its control. This revised orthography, best described as an approach towards Norwegian and Swedish usage, was later adopted by other departments and was authorised by the Danish Government for official use on 1 October 1948. As yet, this orthography is not widely accepted in Denmark; some newspapers and publishers use the old forms, some the new.

The most important change is that common nouns, formerly written with an initial capital, now have a small initial letter. Proper names including place-names retain the initial capital. Derivative forms retain the small initial letter as before: engelsk, englænder. The position with regard to proper names consisting of one or more nouns with a pronoun, adjective or common noun (generic names) remains vague. Generally, if the proper name begins with the definite article this is written with a capital: Den gronlandske Lods. In most Greenland place-names the specific and generic parts are spelt as one word: Danmarkshavn. Where this is not the case all component words continue to have initial capitals (Prins Christians Sund, Arsuk Fjord), although it is in fact left to the writer's discretion to write Grønlands Styrelse or Grønlands styrelse, Disko Bugt or Disko bugt.

A further change is that the former double *a*, *aa* is now to be written *a* in all official documents: Godthåb, Julianehåb. However, foreign place-names (e.g. Saar, Maastricht) are to retain the double *aa* in official documents.

J. G. ELBO

626