and the constitution are printed in the Spring 1984 issue of PS on pp. 331-342. The rules require that any nominations in addition to those made by the Nominating Committee must be received in writing at the Association's Washington office prior to Monday, August 27, 1984 or thereafter at the Association's annual meeting office in the hotel headquarters. All such nominations and certifications must be received at least 24 hours before the session of the Annual Business Meeting in order to include those names on the original nominating document. Specific procedures for offering nominations are indicated in the Annual Business Meeting Rules.

Members of the 1984 Nominating Committee are: Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University, chair; Fred Greenstein, Princeton University; A. F. K. Organski, University of Michigan; Robert D. Putnam, Harvard University; Kenneth Shepsle, Washington University; and Judith Stiehm, University of Southern California.

The current president-elect of APSA is Richard F. Fenno, Jr., University of Rochester. He will become president of the Association after the 1984 Annual Meeting in September. Susan Welch, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, will serve her second year of her two-year term as treasurer in 1984-85.

Other continuing Council members, serving their second year of a two-year term are: Charles W. Anderson, University of Wisconsin; Morris P. Fiorina, Harvard University; Helen Ingram, University of Arizona; Nannerl Keohane, Wellesley College; Michael P. Preston, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Arlene W. Saxonhouse, University of Michigan; W. Phillips Shively, University of Minnesota; and Gerald Wright, Indiana University.

Herbert A. Simon To Receive Madison Award

Herbert A. Simon, professor of computer science and psychology at Carnegie-Mellon University, has been chosen to receive the highest accolade of the Association, the James Madison Award, given to a living American political scientist who has made a distinguished scholarly contribution to political science.

The Madison Award, which carries a cash prize of \$2,000, is presented every three years. Previous winners were Robert Dahl in 1978 and Gabriel Almond in 1981. The recipient is asked to deliver the Madison lecture at the Association's annual meeting, scheduled for Friday, August 31, at 5:30 p.m. in the Washington Hilton Hotel. In addition, a citation will be presented at the Thursday evening awards ceremony.

Committee members responsible for the selection this year were Martin Landau, University of California, Berkeley, chair; Nazli Choucri, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and Donald Stokes, Princeton University.

Political Language To Be Featured at Lasswell Symposium

"Lasswell and Orwell: The Relationship between Political Language and Political Reality" is the theme of the 1984 Lass-



Herbert A. Simon will receive the Madison Award for distinguished scholarly contribution to political science.