Association News

and Freedoms does not and should not have the power to censure individuals. The committee relies on universities, colleges and other employing institutions to operate by procedures that provide due process.

The American Political Science Association encourages universities to define coercive sexual conduct as a form of moral turpitude or gross misconduct and to utilize university dismissal procedures to deal with such behavior.

When a political scientist is dismissed, not reappointed or suspended from employment by a university, college or other employing institution for the stated reason of coercive sexual harassment, moral turpitude or gross misconduct involving coercive sexual harassment, the Association, upon the recommendation of its Ethics Committee, shall inform its members through *PS*.

The Committee on Professional Ethics, Rights and Freedoms stands ready to respond to complaints of sexual harassment. If at the completion of its fact-finding, the committee finds such complaints to be valid, it will take all supportive action it can to restore the dignity and professional well-being of the victim, including preparation of letters and documents to university administrators or others which dispel any cloud of blame from the sexually harassed person.

Sexual harassment is a gross violation of professional ethics comparable to plagiarism or falsification of research and should be regarded and treated as such by members of the profession.

Editor's Note: The complete Council minutes are reprinted in the Appendix of this issue of PS.

Kenneth Waltz Elected President-Elect

International relations scholar Kenneth Waltz has been elected to serve as president-elect of APSA for 1986-87 and will assume the office of president in 1987-88.

Waltz was elected by acclamation at the Annual Business Meeting on August 30 in Washington, D.C. along with the other nominees selected by the Nominating Committee for APSA offices and Council positions.

Beverly Blair Cook, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Charles O. Jones, University of Virginia, and Lucian W. Pye, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, were elected vice-presidents of APSA for 1986-87. Paul Dawson, Oberlin College, was elected secretary for 1986-87. Helen Ingram, University of Arizona, will serve a second year as treasurer.

The eight new members of the 16-member Council elected to serve a two-year term (1986-88) are: Robert H. Bates, Duke University; David W. Brady, Rice University; Demetrios Caraley, Barnard College, Columbia University; Francis W. Carney, University of California, Riverside; Margaret Karns, University of Dayton; David Morgan, University of Liverpool; Mitchell Rice, Louisiana State University; and Robert M. Rosenzweig, Association of American Universities.

Continuing their 1985-87 terms are: John W. Kingdon, University of Michigan; Stephen D. Krasner, Stanford University; Paula D. McClain, Arizona State University; Karen O'Connor, Emory University; Carole Pateman, University of Sydney; G. Bingham Powell, Jr., University of Rochester; Kenneth Shepsle, Harvard University; and Nancy H. Zingale, College of St. Thomas.

Mann to Leave APSA, Take Brookings Post

Executive Director Thomas E. Mann has announced that he will leave APSA to become senior fellow and director of the Governmental Studies Program at the Brookings Institution upon the conclusion of APSA's 1987 annual meeting.

"Tom Mann has been an extraordinarily able executive director. We will miss him," APSA President Samuel P. Huntington said.

"Under Tom's leadership APSA has reversed its decline in membership, instituted Organized Sections, begun a variety of new programs, raised several million dollars for Project '87 and other APSA programs, revamped APSA publications, provided the impetus for the revival of the Consortium of Social Science Associations, and effectively represented us in the academic and Washington communities. These accomplishments have taken place without an increase in dues. In fact, APSA has run a