Association News

Philip Converse Nominated To Be President-Elect of APSA

Philip E. Converse of the University of Michigan has been nominated presidentelect of APSA for 1982-83. He would automatically become APSA's president the subsequent year under the Association's constitution. The nomination was made by the 1982 Nominating Committee which was appointed by Association president Seymour Martin Lipset and past president Charles E. Lindblom.

The Nominating Committee also slated three vice-presidential nominees, Philippe C. Schmitter of the University of Chicago and the European University Institute, Judith N. Shklar of Harvard University, and Roberta Sigel of Rutgers University. Walter Murphy of Princeton University was recommended to be secretary for 1982-83.

Eight new members of the 16-member Council were also nominated by the committee: Twiley Barker of the University of Illinois at Chicago Circle, Walter Dean Burnham of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Suzanne Weaver Garment of the *Wall Street Journal*, Ole R. Holsti of Duke University, Gerald H. Kramer of California Institute of Technology, Guillermo O'Donnell of Instituto Universitario de Pesquisas do Rio de Janeiro, Michael Walzer of the Institute of Advanced Study, and Philip Williams of Nuffield College of Oxford University.

Under APSA's constitution these nominations are subject to the vote of those members of the Association attending the Annual Business meeting. If there is a contest for any elected office, an election will be conducted by mail ballot within 30 days following the Annual Business meeting. The 1982 Annual Business meeting rules and the constitution are printed in the spring 1982 issue of *PS* on pp. 277-288. The rules require that any nominations in addition to those made by the Nominating Committee must be offered in writing and postmarked no later than seven days prior to the close of the Annual Meeting (that is, August 30). Specific procedures for offering additional nominations are indicated in the Annual Business meeting rules.

The current president-elect of APSA is William Riker who will become president of the Association after the 1982 Annual Meeting.

The members of the 1982 Nominating Committee are: David R. Mayhew of Yale University (chair), Lewis Anthony Dexter, Adam Przeworski of the University of Chicago, Ronald Rogowski of the University of California at Los Angeles, Stanley Rothman of Smith College, and Mildred A. Schwartz of the University of Illinois at Chicago Circle.

Council Establishes Ralph J. Bunche Award

The APSA Council approved several changes in the APSA awards at its May 7 meeting, including renaming the Ethnic and Cultural Pluralism Award the Ralph J. Bunche award. Bunche is a former president of APSA and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize.

The award is given for the best scholarly work in political science which has been published within the last five years and which explores an aspect of ethnic and cultural pluralism. The 1981 winner was Margaret Ross Barnett of the Teachers College of Columbia University.

480 *PS* Summer 1982