and the constitution are printed in the Spring 1984 issue of PS on pp. 331-342. The rules require that any nominations in addition to those made by the Nominating Committee must be received in writing at the Association's Washington office prior to Monday, August 27, 1984 or thereafter at the Association's annual meeting office in the hotel headquarters. All such nominations and certifications must be received at least 24 hours before the session of the Annual Business Meeting in order to include those names on the original nominating document. Specific procedures for offering nominations are indicated in the Annual Business Meeting Rules.

Members of the 1984 Nominating Committee are: Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University, chair; Fred Greenstein, Princeton University; A. F. K. Organski, University of Michigan; Robert D. Putnam, Harvard University; Kenneth Shepsle, Washington University; and Judith Stiehm, University of Southern California.

The current president-elect of APSA is Richard F. Fenno, Jr., University of Rochester. He will become president of the Association after the 1984 Annual Meeting in September. Susan Welch, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, will serve her second year of her two-year term as treasurer in 1984-85.

Other continuing Council members, serving their second year of a two-year term are: Charles W. Anderson, University of Wisconsin; Morris P. Fiorina, Harvard University; Helen Ingram, University of Arizona; Nannerl Keohane, Wellesley College; Michael P. Preston, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Arlene W. Saxonhouse, University of Michigan; W. Phillips Shively, University of Minnesota; and Gerald Wright, Indiana University.

Herbert A. Simon To Receive Madison Award

Herbert A. Simon, professor of computer science and psychology at Carnegie-Mellon University, has been chosen to receive the highest accolade of the Association, the James Madison Award, given to a living American political scientist who has made a distinguished scholarly contribution to political science.

The Madison Award, which carries a cash prize of \$2,000, is presented every three years. Previous winners were Robert Dahl in 1978 and Gabriel Almond in 1981. The recipient is asked to deliver the Madison lecture at the Association's annual meeting, scheduled for Friday, August 31, at 5:30 p.m. in the Washington Hilton Hotel. In addition, a citation will be presented at the Thursday evening awards ceremony.

Committee members responsible for the selection this year were Martin Landau, University of California, Berkeley, chair; Nazli Choucri, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and Donald Stokes, Princeton University.

Political Language To Be Featured at Lasswell Symposium

"Lasswell and Orwell: The Relationship between Political Language and Political Reality" is the theme of the 1984 Lass-



Herbert A. Simon will receive the Madison Award for distinguished scholarly contribution to political science.



Hanna Pitkin, Lasswell Symposium panelist.

well Symposium, annual meeting program chair Doris Graber has announced.

"Harold Lasswell and George Orwell shared a deep interest in the dynamics and effects of political language," Graber explained. "It is in that context that the current uses and abuses of political language and their importance for political inquiry and for the conduct of politics will be assessed," she said.

Graber announced that four distinguished scholars will be panelists for the symposium, including Jean Elshtain of the University of Massachusetts, Amherst; Murray Edelman of the University of Wisconsin, Madison; Hanna Pitkin of the University of California, Berkeley; and John S. Nelson of the University of Iowa. Elshtain, Edelman and Pitkin will present papers while Nelson will serve as moderator to facilitate discussion among the panelists and between the panelists and audience.

The session, which is part of the annual meeting of the APSA, will take place on Friday evening, August 31 at 8:30 p.m. at the Washington Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C.

"The spotlight will be turned on a variety of political arenas in which verbally created images of the political world dominate perceptions. Image creation by the



Murray Edelman, Lasswell Symposium panelist.



John S. Nelson, Lasswell Symposium panelist.

604 PS Summer 1984

mass media and by political leaders are examples," Graber said in describing the focus of the symposium.

The H. D. Lasswell Symposium was established by the American Political Science Association in 1982 to honor the renowned political scientist for his unique contributions to the social sciences. The Symposium is held each year in conjunction with the annual meeting of the association. As currently organized, the Symposium features three intellectual leaders selected to present essays on a common theme of wide interest to social scientists at a plenary session. The theme need not be limited to Lasswell's particular areas of interest.

APSA has established an interest-bearing fund to finance the Lasswell Symposium. Friends of Harold Lasswell and beneficiaries of his ideas and work are urged to contribute. Tax-exempt contributions should be made payable to APSA H. D. Lasswell Symposium, American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

DeWitt Collection To Be Displayed At Annual Meeting

The J. Doyle DeWitt Collection of Political Americana, the largest and most comprehensive private collection of its kind, will be on display at APSA's annual meeting, August 30-September 2 at the Washington Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C. This collection is second in national importance to that of the Smithsonian Institution.

Among its highlights are hundreds of presidential campaign artifacts in china, glass, metal, wood, and textiles; an important Lincoln collection; material dealing with the political history of the Confederacy; an extensive assortment of nineteenth century cartoons; material associated with women's rights, temperance-prohibition and civil rights movements; campaign music and original voice recordings of candidates dating back to Benjamin Harrison; a research library strong in early pamphlets and



The J. Doyle DeWitt Collection of Political Americana will be displayed at the APSA Annual Meeting.

other printed matter; and a large and varied collection of minor or third party artifacts dating from the earliest political campaigns.

Portions of the DeWitt Collection have been exhibited at state and local historical societies in the northeast, at national political party conventions and in many public schools and libraries. The National Portrait Gallery, the Georges Pompidou Centre in Paris, the Amon Carter Museum in Fort Worth, the Lyndon B. Johnson Library in Austin, the New York Life Insurance Company, the League of Women Voters, the American Broadcasting Company and Montreal's Expo-67 are among the diverse organizations which have displayed or otherwise used material from the collection. During the 1976 Bicentennial Year, the United States Information Agency and the American Museum in Bath, England, cosponsored a widely praised touring display entitled, "Campaigning American Style" which was exhibited in the House of Commons and in cities throughout England, Scotland and Wales.