THE History of Economics Society BULLETIN

Volume VIII, Issue 1

SUMMER, 1986



The HES Bulletin is published semiannually by The History of Economics Society at Vanderbilt University

© Copyright 1986

HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY'S DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS

William Jaffee	1980
Joseph J. Spengler	1981
Joseph Dorfman	1982
Frank W. Fetter	1982
George J. Stigler	1983
Lord Robbins	1984
Terence W. Hutchison	1984
G. L. S. Shackle	1985
Friedrich A. von Hayek	1985

Officers of The History of Economics Society 1986-1987

Abraham Hirsch	President	Executive Committee
Donald A. Walker	President-Elect	Y. S. Brenner '88
Ingrid Rima	Vice-President	Malcolm Rutherford '88
A. W. Coats	Past President	Donald E. Moggridge '89
John K. Whitaker	Past President	Bruce Caldwell '89
Hans E. Jensen	Secretary-Treasurer	

1985-86

A. W. Coats	President	Executive Committee	
Abraham Hirsch	President-Elect	Todd Lowery	'86
Neil de Marchi	Vice-President	Abraham Hirsch	'86
John K. Whitaker	Past President	Y. S. Brenner	'88
Mark Perlman	Past President	Malcolm Rutherford	'88
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		

1984-1985

Mark Perlman	President	Executive Committee	
A. W. Coats	President-Elect	Abraham Hirsch	'86
John Henderson	Vice President	Todd Lowry	'86
Martin Bronfenbrenner	Past President	William O. Thweatt	'85
John K. Whitaker	Past President		
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		

1983-1984

John K. Whitaker	President	Executive Committee	
Mark Perlman	President-Elect	Abraham Hirsch	`86
Samuel Hollander	Vice-President	Todd Lowry	`86
Warren Samuels	Past President	A. W. Coats	'85
Martin Bronfenbrenner	Past President	William O. Thweatt	'85
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		

All Communications regarding material for possible inclusion in the HES should be addressed to:

> William O. Thweatt, Editor HES Bulletin Box 206-B, Vanderbilt University Nashville, TN 37235

All submissions should be typed and double-spaced.

Requests for institutional subscriptions, membership information as well as notices of address changes should be addressed to:

Hans E. Jensen, Secretary-Treasurer Department of Economics The University of Tennessee, Knoxville College of Business Administration 511 Stokely Management Center Knoxville, Tennessee 37996-0550

CONTENTS

From the Editori
Announcement of the Fourteenth Annual Meeting
and Call for Papers1
Abstracts of Papers Delivered at the History of Economics Society's
Thirteenth Annual Meeting at Barnard College,
New York City, June 1-4, 19862 - 34
Contributed Papers:
How Piero Sraffa Took Up the Editorship of David Ricardo's
Works and Correspondence, by Pier Luigi Porta
A Note on Leibenstein's Veblen Effect,
by Ken McCormick
Adam Smith on Bankruptcy Law: "New" Law and Economics
in the Glasgow Lectures?, by Francisco Cabrillo40 - 41
(Four papers from members of the faculty of the Center for
Study of Public Choice, of George Mason University)
Study of Fublic Choice, of George Mason Oniversity
The Table of Contents of Economics Journals as Forcasts of
Scientific Relevance, by Robert D. Tollison and
Diek M. Carlson
The Rise and (Recent) Decline of Mathematical Economics,
by Gary M. Anderson, Briean L. Goff and
Robert D. Tollison44 - 48
D' I DIN DIA DIANA Maria Davida
Ricardo on the Public Debt: Principle Versus Practice, by Gary M. Anderson and Robert D. Tollison
by Gary M. Anderson and Robert D. Tomson
Dead Men Tell No Tales,
by Gary M. Anderson and Robert D. Tollison
• •
Joint-Sessions Between HES and EEA, by Joseph Ricciardi69 - 70
Announcements