BULLETIN

OF THE

BRITISH SOCIETY

FOR THE

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

May, 1952

No. 7

VOL. 1

CONTENTS		
		PAGE
Joule's Scientific Outlook, by Professor L. Rosenfeld	***	169
RICHARD BRADLEY, AN EARLY EIGHTEENTH CENTURY BIOLOG	IST,	
BY DR. H. HAMSHAW THOMAS, M.B.E., F.R.S	***	176
THE ENGLISH YARD AND POUND, BY F. G. SKINNER, Esq.		179
Book Reviews		187
PROCEEDINGS AT MEETINGS, OCTOBER 1951 TO MARCH 1952		189
PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP SUPPLEMENT No. 6		
Committee's Report, 1951-1952		191
Abstract of Paper:		
PROBLEMS AND THEORIES OF CAUSATION, BY PROFESSOR		
R. O. KAPP	***	192

OFFICERS AND COUNCIL

1951 - 1952

PRESIDENT

Dr. F. SHERWOOD TAYLOR

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Prof. HERBERT BUTTERFIELD

Dr. Charles E. Raven

Dr. D. McKIE

Dr. Charles Singer

Prof. J. R. PARTINGTON, M.B.E.

Dr. E. ASHWORTH UNDERWOOD

HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq.

HONORARY TREASURER

Dr. F. A. FRRETH, O.B.E., F.R.S.

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

Dr. Angus Armptage

THOMAS MARTIN, ESG.

Dr. R. S. CLAY

Dr. JOSEPH NEEDHAM, F.R.S.

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE

Dr. F. J. NORTH

Dr. C. H. DESCH, F.R.S. Prof. HERBERT DINGLE Prof. L. ROSENFELD

Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE

Dr. H. Hamshaw Thomas, M.B.E., F.R.S.

ROBERT S. WHIPPLE, Esq.

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

1952 - 53

CHAIRMAN Prof. K. R. POPPER VICE-CHAIRMAN

Prof. J. H. WOODGER

HONORARY SECRETARY

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

Dr. E. H. HUTTEN L. L. WHYTE, Esq. Dr. J. O. WISDOM

Editor of the Bulletin,

Dr. N. H. de V. Heathcote, Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

Communications for the Philosophy of Science Group Supplement should be addressed to Dr. A. C. Crombie, Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £1 1s. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year.

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved by the Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.

Published by The Society, 10, Exhibition Road, South Kensington, London, S.W.7.
Telephone: KENsington 8806