In 1997, the International Phonetic Association's by-laws were revised to recognize as Life Members those members who have paid membership dues for over 30 years. The awarding of Life Membership is intended to honour the impressive records of service of long-time IPA members, and to acknowledge their contribution in a symbolic and in a practical way.

Life Membership was conferred on the following IPA members in 1998:

Prof. Alan Cruttenden, Manchester Prof. Leigh Lisker, Philadelphia

Life Membership was conferred on the following IPA members in 1999:

M. Denis Autesserre, Marseille Dr. Anthony Fox, Leeds

Congratulations are extended to all new Life Members on behalf of the Association!

John H. Esling, Secretary

In Memoriam

Lev Rafailovich Zinder	1904 – 1995	Antonie Cohen	1922 - 1996
Franklin S. Cooper	1908 – 1999	John Holmes	1924 - 1999
André Martinet	1908 – 1999	Frances MacCurtain	1937 - 1998
Jean-Paul Vinay	1910 - 1999	Alla Solomonovna Shtern	1941 - 199
Laurence Alfred Iles	1915 – 1998	Lennart Nord	1947 - 1999
J.D. O'Connor	1919 - 1998	Gary Kopec	1952 - 1998
Peter B. Denes	1920 - 1996	Christian Benoit	1956 - 1998
Adam John "Jack" Aitken	1921 – 1998	John Dongwook Choi	1962 - 1998