Association News



Fred Holborn and Judith N. Shklar at APSA Council reception honoring the IPSA Executive Committee.

German Marshall Fund Travel Grantees Wolfgang Reinicke, West Germany; Yale University

Thomas Faist, West Germany; The New School for Social Research

Judith N. Shklar Elected President-Elect

Judith N. Shklar of Harvard University has been elected to serve as presidentelect of the APSA for 1988-89 and will assume the office of president in 1989-90.

Shklar was elected by acclamation at the Annual APSA Business Meeting on September 3 in Washington, DC, thus setting the stage for her to become the first woman president in the 86-year history of the Association.

At the same meeting, Murray Edelman, University of Wisconsin–Madison; Robert Jervis, Columbia University; and Martin Shapiro, University of California–Berkeley, were elected vice-presidents for 1988-89. Daniel Elazar, Temple University, was elected secretary for 1988-89.

The eight new members of the 16-member Council elected to serve a twoyear term (1988-90) are: Christopher Achen, University of Chicago; Kathleen Francovic, CBS News; Peter A. Gourevitch, University of California, San Diego; Ted Robert Gurr, University of Colorado; Ronald Kahn, Oberlin College; Barbara Nelson, University of Minnesota; Adolph Reed, Jr., Yale University; and Donald Searing, University of North Carolina.

Continuing their 1987-89 terms are: William Bacchus, U.S. Department of State; Donald Kinder, University of Michigan; Jane Mansbridge, Northwestern University; Dianne Pinderhughes, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret E. Scranton, University of Arkansas-Little Rock; Mary L. Shanley, Vassar College; Richard A. Watson, University of Missouri; and Aristide Zolberg, The New School for Social Research.

Nominating Committee Welcomes Suggestions

APSA's Nominating Committee, chaired by Bernard C. Cohen, University of Wisconsin–Madison, seeks suggestions for nominees to APSA offices.

The Committee will make nominations for eight Council persons, as well as the offices of secretary, treasurer, vice presidents (three positions), and president-elect. The Committee will meet in late February in Washington and report to the President no later than April 15.

'Members of the nominating committee are:

Lucius Barker, Department of Government, Littauer Center, Rm. 318, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA 02138.

Bernard C. Cohen, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Dr., University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI 53706.

Jennifer Hochschild, Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, 202 Junipero Serra Boulevard, Stanford, CA 94305.

Herbert Jacob, Department of Political Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60201.

Dale Rogers Marshall, Dean of the College, Wellesley College, Wellesley, MA 02181.

Glenn Snyder, Department of Political Science, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC 27514.

Delegation From Chinese Association of Political Science Visits APSA Annual Meeting

APSA hosted a delegation from the Chinese Association of Political Science (CAPS) from August 31 to September 15. The visit by eight Chinese political scientists was the latest step in the bilateral scholarly exchange program begun in 1985. Support for the project has been provided by the Asia Foundation.

The delegation was headed by Li Shenzhi, Executive Vice President of CAPS and Director of the Institute of American Studies in the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS). Accompanying Li were Yan Jiaqi, Director of the Institute of Political Science (CASS); Qiu Xiao, Professor of Political Science, Suzhou University; Shi Xiaochong, CAPS Vice President and Professor of Political Science, East China Normal University; Wang Huning, Professor of Political Science, Fudan University; Hu Qian, Professor of International Law, Beijing University; Wang Yunkun, Secretary General of CAPS; and Zhao Bingchang, CASS Bureau of Foreign Affairs.

The delegation attended the APSA and IPSA meetings and then left Washington for visits to Atlanta where they were hosted by Dean Eleanor Main and the Department of Political Science of Emory University; to Boston where APSA President Lucian Pye guided the delegation in visits to MIT and Harvard, and where Dean Dale Rogers Marshall hosted the delegation at Wellesley College. From Boston, the group visited San Francisco where David Brady and Nina Halpern of Stanford, and Nelson Polsby and Jane Tur-



Members of the Chinese Association of Political Science attend University of Chicago's reception recognizing the retirement of Tang Tsou, I. to r.: Wang Yunkun, CAPS Secretary General; Yan Jiaqi, director of the Institute of Politics; Tang Tsou; Li Shenzhi, executive vice-president of CAPS; and Hao Yufan, APSA program interpreter.

biner of Berkeley organized the last leg of the delegation's visit.

During their visit, members of the delegation examined the nature of a research university, the relationship between research and public funding, the nature of a graduate department, and the process of faculty review and tenure. The group also considered the relationships between federal, state, and local governments, the relationship between business and government, congressional leadership, and the presidential elections.

Report of the Treasurer of the American Political Science Association, 1987-88

Nancy H. Zingale College of St. Thomas

The Association finished 1987-88 with a surplus of \$74,385, extending its string of budget surpluses to nine. Revenue increased by 3.3% over the previous year while expenditures increased by a slightly

Fall 1988 977