This spring, 56 promising minority students interested in pursuing graduate studies in political science were identified by political science departments at Amherst College, Butler University, University of California, Santa Cruz, Chicago State University, Goucher College, Harvard University, Marquette University, University of Michigan, Monmouth University, University of New Mexico, University of North Carolina, Ohio State University, University of Oklahoma, University of Rhode Island, Santa Clara University, University of South Carolina, Aiken, University of Southern California, Virginia State University, Washington University, and Xavier University. APSA would like to express its appreciation to these departments for their support and participation.

The Minority Identification project is a collaboration of undergraduate and graduate political science programs to attract talented minority undergraduate students to graduate study in the field and, ultimately, to increase diversity in the political science profession.

Faculty in university and college undergraduate programs talk with minority students about professional careers in political science and send the names of promising minority candidates for graduate study to the APSA. Participating graduate institutions actively recruit students identified by the Project, and make special

1998–99 APSA Minority Fellows Choose Grad Schools

All four 1998–99 Minority Fellows will be attending graduate school this fall. Latina Fellow Luz Iniz Gomez will enter the Ph.D. program in political science at Columbia. African-American Fellows Kimberly Clark and Temita Davis will attend the University of North Carolina and Clark University, respectively. Brandy Faulkner, an unfunded Fellow, has accepted admission to the University of North Carolina, Greensboro.

efforts to provide financial aid to those admitted to their programs.

Currently, the Project circulates its list to 41 core schools and to several non-core schools. For more information about the Project, please contact minority id@apsanet.org.

Forty-Sixth Class of Congressional Fellows Named

Continuing a five-decade tradition, APSA has named its 1998–99 class of Congressional Fellows. Chosen from a large and highly qualified group of political scientists, journalists, health professionals, and government employees, Fellows will spend a year in Washington learning how the legislative branch of the federal government works by joining the staffs of members of Congress and attending lectures and seminars.

The 1998–99 Congressional Fellowship Program class includes:

Political Science Fellows

David Auerswald, assistant professor, George Washington University

Thomas Brunell, visiting professor, University of California, Irvine

Colton Campbell, assistant professor, Florida International University

Lisa García Bedolla, Ph.D., Yale University

Eric Heberlig, Ph.D., Ohio State University

Benjamin Highton, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

David Leal, assistant professor, State University of New York, Buffalo (1998–99 Steiger Fellow)

Journalism Fellows

Natalia Feduschak, contributing editor, *The Ukrainian Quarterly*

Darcia Harris, staff writer, *The Watertown Daily Times* (1998–99 Congressional Quarterly Fellow)

APSA-MCI Communications Fellows

Daniel Lipinski, Ph.D., Duke University

Andrew Souvall, producer, KUTV, Salt Lake City, Utah

Carl Albert Fellows

Lesli McCollum, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma

German Fellows

Katherine Käufer, computer software translator, Graphitti Software, Cologne, Germany

Michael Kühlen, freelance journalist, Münster, Germany

Federal Fellows

Lora Becker, director of military intelligence staff, Defense Intelligence Agency

Donna Counterman, chief, EMS Requirements Staff, and EMS business manager, Central Intelligence Agency

Blane Dessy, executive director, National Library of Education, U.S. Department of Education

Deirdre Foley, fair lending specialist, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

Christine Jackson, education program specialist, U.S. Department of Education

Patricia Jones, chief, Infrastructure Planning and Strategy, and senior computer scientist, National Security Agency

Arthur Menna, senior electronic engineer, National Security Agency

Carol Rest-Mincberg, senior management consultant, Department of Health and Human Services

Stacey Rosenberg, nuclear engineer, Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Foreign Affairs Fellows

William Adkins, team chief, Advanced Concepts Group, National Reconnaissance Office

Anne Alexander, Defense Intelligence Agency

Christopher Datta, country affairs officer (Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, West Bank), U.S. Information Agency

Delia Donatelli, deputy division chief, Satellite Systems Division, Department of the Air Force