PREFACE

This volume contains the contributed papers for the 1988 Biennial Meeting of the Philosophy of Science Association held in Evanston, Illinois. It is published before the meeting, with a second volume, containing the symposia papers, to be published afterward. Northwestern University provides generous support for the preparation of these volumes.

The papers, chosen for individual merit, were selected by the Program Committee for the meeting, consisting of Jarrett Leplin (chair), John Earman, Ellery Eells, Larry Laudan, Alexander Rosenberg, and Linda Wessels. The organization of the papers records that of the program, and the identification of themes and topics to group them proved difficult, with some categories forced simply by expediency.

There are somewhat fewer contributed papers to this meeting than to past ones, a change that allowed the addition to the program of commentators-at-large, who also chaired the sessions. Their contributions, not recorded here, are gratefully acknowledged.

Thanks are due the Program Committee for their good judgments, and to our authors for their cooperation over an especially tight publication schedule.

We are grateful to Northwestern University's Academic Computing Center, directed by George Sadowsky, for the use of the microcomputing facilities to prepare camera ready copy. Special thanks are due Wendy Ward whose expertise and imagination in utilizing these facilities shows up on nearly every page of the volume.

Jarrett Leplin Department of Philosophy University of N. Carolina Greensboro Arthur Fine and Micky Forbes Department of Philosophy Northwestern University