£200 to Jane Blunden to investigate Equus przewalskii in China;

£200 to the Sierra Leone Nature Conservation Association towards the development of the Mamunta-Mayosa Wildlife Sanctuary;

£200 to buy books for the Uganda Institute of Ecology;

£100 to buy books for the Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College in India;

£ 20 towards postage costs of books to the Rio de Janeiro Primate Centre.

ffPS Annual General Meeting

The President, Lord Zuckerman, took the chair at the Society's 77th Annual General Meeting in the Meeting Rooms of the Zoological Society of London on September 2 1981. Lord Zuckerman expressed his wish to resign the Presidency of the Society and proposed Sir Peter Scott as his successor. This was unanimously approved, and in accepting the position Sir Peter paid a generous tribute to Lord Zuckerman and thanked him for his contribution to the work of ffPS. The other five officers were re-elected: Lord Craigton, Chairman; Richard Fitter, Vice Chairman; T.A.P. Walker, Hon. Treasurer; David M. Jones, Hon. Secretary; Maisie Fitter, Hon. Editor.

Four members of Council retired by order of seniority: Dr Malcolm Coe, G.T. Corley Smith, Miss A.G.C. Grandison and Stuart Johnstone, and were warmly thanked by the President for their services. Three new members were elected: Dr Keith Banister, Dr C. Humphries and Dr David Macdonald. [Since the Annual General Meeting Council has co-opted an additional member, Jeremy Mallinson.] The Meeting approved in principle the Treasurer's proposal that the annual subscription should be increased to £15 for existing members in 1983 and for new members in 1982. The Annual Report and Accounts were approved.

The institution of an ffPS Roll of Honour to recognise those who had given the Society distinguished service was reported, and also the first name to be inscribed, that of Ian D. Malcolmson, Hon Treasurer for 29 years.

The new President, Sir Peter Scott, thanked the Zoological Society of London for accommodation and services and much help throughout the year, and also warmly thanked the ffPS staff for their excellent work.

After the business meeting Lord Melchett, Chairman of the CoEnCo Wildlife Link Committee, gave an illuminating talk on the Wildlife and Countryside Bill. A wine and cheese supper was followed by the film Namib, and members and friends were able to walk in the Zoo.

World Heritage Sites

Since 1978 22 natural sites in 12 countries have been given World Heritage status by UNESCO, a process in which IUCN's National Parks Commission advises. The 22 are (NP National Park):

Dinosaur Provincial Park, Nahanni NP and Burgess Shale Site, Canada; Galapagos NP, Ecuador; Simien NP, Ethiopia; Tikal NP, Guatemala; Sagarmatha NP, Nepal; Bialowieza NP, Poland; Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania; Ichkeul NP, Tunisia; Redwood, Grand Canyon, Everglades, Yellowstone and Mesa Verde NPs, USA; Durmitor NP, Lake Ohrid, Plitvice Lakes NP, Yugoslavia; Garamba NP, Kahuzi-Biega NP, Virunga NP, Zaire; Kluane-Wrangell/St Elias NP, Canada/USA.