

Herbert Weisberg (left), program chair for the 1983 Annual Meeting, discusses Council business with APSA president Seymour Martin Lipset of Stanford University. Weisberg is at Ohio State University.

Donald E. Gillis, Department of the Navy Michael A. Hardin, Defense Intelligence Agency

- Patricia R. Lawson, Department of Health and Human Services
- John J. Madison, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
- Susan D. McAndrew, Department of Agriculture
- Patrick A. Mulloy, Department of Justice Ronald Overmann, National Science
- Foundation
- Gilbert R. Reed, Department of the Navy
- Timothy K. Sanders, Department of the Army
- Grayson G. Snurr, Department of Health and Human Services
- Cynthia J. Taylor, National Security Agency

Non-Academic Committee Sets Year's Agenda

The Committee on Non-Academic Political Scientists met for the first time in April to discuss the charge of the committee to increase the participation of non-academic political scientists in APSA. Trudi Miller, chair of the committee, emphasized that the committee's goal should be to help bring together people who think analytically and rigorously about politics, who have been trained as political scientists, but who may not now or in the future be employed by a college or university.

In planning the committee's work, much of the meeting focused on APSA's role in non-academic job placement for political scientists. The committee identified some of the difficulties in placing political scientists in non-academic jobs:

 Marketing political scientists: Many businesses do not know what political scientists can do or how they are trained.

 Graduate education: While much graduate education in political science is applicable beyond the academic realm, programs could point out such implications, and professors might be more receptive

Association News

to students interested in those implications.

• Non-academic networks: While there are extensive networks of colleagues helpful in academic placement, there is a paucity of networks which extend beyond the academic sphere.

The committee agreed to develop two short courses to be held in conjunction with the 1983 Annual Meeting, one to help graduate students plan their graduate programs in order to prepare for nonacademic jobs and another to help political scientists obtain non-academic employment.

The committee set October 15 for its next meeting to develop other ideas. Any APSA member with suggestions for services for non-academics should write Trudi Miller, care of the national office.

Other members of the committee include: Carolyn Ban of the State University of New York at Albany; George Kundanis, Office of the Democratic Whip, U.S. House of Representatives; Beth Schapiro, Research Atlanta; and Wesley Truitt, Northrop Corporation.

Task Force on Women Names Authors for Units

The authors and topics of units for the project "Citizenship and Change: Women and American Politics" have been set by the project's task force.

The project, supported by a grant to the Association from the Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education, calls for the preparation and distribution of a series of instructional units that can supplement the textbooks used in introductory American government courses.

The task force hopes to correct misconceptions about women in politics as well as to fill in the gap caused by omitting feminism from much of mainstream political science. For example, Mary L. Shanley of Vassar College plans in her unit, "Feminism: Ideology and Theory," to correct the idea frequently conveyed in traditional textbooks that the 19th and early 20th century women's movement was exclusively aimed at women's suffrage.

Joyce Gelb of City College of the City University of New York will look at women's movements and place them in the context of group theories and hypotheses about political movements, their incentives, strategies and impact. The other units include:

Diane L. Fowlkes, Georgia State University: An Introduction to the Project.

Irene Diamond, Purdue University: Family and Public Policy.

Milda K. Hedblom, Augsburg College: Organizations and Institutions.

Virginia Sapiro, University of Wisconsin at Madison: Participation and Political Action.

Sarah Slavin, University College at Buffalo: Constitutional Principles.

Judith Hicks Stiehm, University of Southern California: Coercion and Violence.

Susette Talarico, University of Georgia; Beverly B. Cook, University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee; and Karen O'Connor, Emory University, Judicial Process and Behavior.

Clement E. Vose, Wesleyan University, will serve as a reviewer and consulting editor for the series.

The first public presentation of this project will be made at the 1982 Annual Meeting in Denver at a short course on Wednesday, September 1, the day before the official opening of the Annual Meeting. Diamond, Fowlkes, Gelb, Stiehm and Talarico will be present at that afternoon workshop which will be held from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Participation in the workshop is open to all members of APSA and Annual Meeting registrants.

After the instructional units are completed in October, the task force will invite political science departments to help test the materials. Heads of women's studies programs, department heads, and other parties interested in testing the units should write Sheilah Mann at the national office.

486 *PS* Summer 1982