Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science

Volume 20 1954

Reprinted with the permission of the original publisher by

Periodicals Service Company

Germantown, NY

2013

Printed on acid-free paper.

This reprint was reproduced from the

best original edition copy available.

NOTE TO THE REPRINT EDITION: In some cases full page advertisements which do not add to the scholarly value of this volume have been omitted. As a result, some reprinted volumes may have irregular pagination.

The Canadian Journal of Economics Revue canadienne d'Economique and Political Science et de Science politique

VOLUME / TOME XX 1954

Reprinted by

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

1968

The Canadian Political Science Association

President, J. A. CORRY

Past Presidents Elected Members of the H. MARSHALL Executive Council A. BRADY A. S. ABELL Vice-Presidents C. L. BARBER D. C. CORBETT E. F. Beach I. D. GIBSON A. FAUCHER P. W. Fox H. B. HAWTHORN MABEL F. TIMLIN E. J. HANSON Wм. C. Hood Secretary-Treasurer G. R. HORNE C. B. MACPHERSON D. Ivor Assistant Secretary-Treasurer F. E. Jones Mrs. Elizabeth D. Wangenheim A. LERMER Representative Member M. O. MORGAN N. H. Morse on C.S.S.R.C. R. W. THOMPSON V. W. Bladen

> Representatives of the Board of Editors of the Journal

G. A. Elliott

J. E. Hodgetts

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganized in 1929. The object of the Association is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political, and social problems in Canada.

Annual Subscription \$6.00 Student Subscription \$3.00

The Association welcomes as members all who are interested in its objects. Members receive a copy of THE CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press.

Subscriptions should be sent to the Secretary-Treasurer, Canadian Political Science Association, 273 Bloor St. West, Toronto 5, Canada

Printed in U.S.A.

THE CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

BOARD OF EDITORS

V. C. FOWKE, University of Saskatchewan

O. HALL, McGill University

J. E. Hodgetts, Queen's University

B. S. KERSTEAD, University of Toronto

Managing Editor: G. A. Elliott, University of Toronto

EDITORIAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

J. A. CORRY (Chairman)

A. S. ABELL P. W. FOX
C. L. BARBER J. D. GIBSON
E. F. BEACH E. J. HANSON
V. W. BLADEN H. B. HAWTHORN
A. BRADY WM. C. HOOD
D. C. CORBETT G. R. HORNE
A. FAUCHER D. IVOR

A. LERMER
C. B. MACPHERSON
H. MARSHALL
M. O. MORGAN
N. H. MORSE
R. W. THOMPSON

F. E. JONES

MABEL F. TIMLIN

Manuscripts and correspondence about contributions to the JOURNAL should be addressed to the Managing Editor, 273 Bloor St. W., Toronto 5. Authors are requested to submit original typescript, double-spaced, on standard typewriter paper with adequate margins. Footnotes should be typed in double space, and placed preferably in a body at the end of the article. Authors will greatly assist by checking quotations against originals before submitting copy.

Subscriptions, orders for copies of the JOURNAL, and notices of change of address, should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, Canadian Political Science Association, 273 Bloor St. W., Toronto 5. Remittances should be made payable to the Canadian Political Science Association.