## SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

# AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

1950

#### EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

James K. Pollock, University of Michigan Peter H. Odegard, University of California (Berkeley) Harvey Walker, Ohio State University William C. Johnstone, Department of State Pendleton Herring, Social Science Research Council Lloyd Short, University of Minnesota

#### Nominating Committee

Thomas S. Barclay, Chairman (2 years), Stanford University Thomas C. Donnelly, University of New Mexico Charles M. Kneier (2 years), University of Illinois Charles E. Martin (2 years), University of Washington Dayton D. McKean, Dartmouth College Charles C. Rohlfing, University of Pennsylvania Arthur N. Holcombe, ex officio, Harvard University

#### PROGRAM COMMITTEE

William C. Johnstone, Chairman, Department of State Ernest S. Griffith, Library of Congress Father R. C. Hartnett, America Claude E. Hawley, U. S. Office of Education Claudius O. Johnson, State College of Washington Albert Lepawsky, University of Alabama Benjamin E. Lippincott, University of Minnesota Don Price, Public Administration Clearing House Walter Sandelius, University of Kansas Victoria Schuck, Mount Holyoke College Jonathan Stoddart, George Washington University John W. Swarthout, Oregon State College

#### COMMITTEE ON AWARDS

Frederic A. Ogg, General Chairman, University of Wisconsin Roosevelt Panel: James Hart, Chairman, University of Virginia Merle Fainsod, Harvard University David Fellman, University of Wisconsin Benjamin E. Lippincott, University of Minnesota Harvey C. Mansfield, Ohio State University

Woodrow Wilson Panel: Charles Fairman, Chairman, Stanford University
Robert K. Carr, Dartmouth College
Kirk Porter, State University of Iowa
John Sly, Princeton University
T. V. Smith, Syracuse University

Willkie Panel: Henry R. Spencer, Chairman, Ohio State University
Ben M. Cherrington, University of Denver
Clyde Eagleton, New York University
Leland Goodrich, Brown University
Stanley K. Hornbeck, Washington, D. C.
Harold Quigley, University of Minnesota

#### COMMITTEE FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF TEACHING

Marshall E. Dimock, Chairman, Bethel, Vermont Harold M. Dorr, University of Michigan Claude E. Hawley, U. S. Office of Education E. Allen Helms, Ohio State University Andrew Nuquist, University of Vermont Ruth G. Weintraub, Hunter College Howard White, Miami University (Ohio)

## COMMITTEE ON AMERICAN LEGISLATURES

Belle Zeller, Chairman, Brooklyn College
Donald Axelrod, New York State Division of the Budget
Joseph P. Chamberlain, Columbia University
Mona Fletcher, Kent State University
W. Brooke Graves, Library of Congress
Frederic H. Guild, Kansas Legislative Council
Joseph P. Harris, University of California (Berkeley)
Lashley G. Harvey, Boston University
Jack F. Isakoff, Illinois Legislative Council
John A. Perkins, University of Michigan
Charles W. Shull, Wayne University
Richard C. Spencer, Coe College
O. Douglas Weeks, University of Texas

## COMMITTEE ON CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN POLITICS

Ben A. Arneson, Chairman, Ohio Wesleyan University Hugh A. Bone, University of Washington William S. Carpenter, Princeton University Harold Gosnell, Bethesda, Maryland Estes Kefauver, United States Senate Herbert McClosky, University of Minnesota Roy V. Peel, U. S. Bureau of the Census Josephine M. Pisani, Queens College Arthur T. Vanderbilt, Supreme Court of New Jersey John A. Vieg, Pomona College Howard White, Miami University (Ohio)

#### COMMITTEE ON LATIN-AMERICAN AFFAIRS

Russell H. Fitzgibbon, Chairman, University of California (Los Angeles) Willard F. Barber, Department of State
George I. Blanksten, Northwestern University
A. N. Christensen, University of Minnesota
Charles G. Fenwick, Pan American Union
J. Lloyd Mecham, University of Texas
William S. Stokes, University of Wisconsin
Arthur P. Whitaker, University of Pennsylvania

## COMMITTEE ON INTERNATIONAL CULTURAL RELATIONS

Pitman B. Potter, Chairman, The American University
Clarence A. Berdahl, University of Illinois
Kenneth Colegrove, Northwestern University
Clyde Eagleton, New York University
Ellen Ellis, Mount Holyoke College
Richard Heindel, Social Science Research Council
Charles E. Martin, University of Washington
Eli E. Nobleman, Counsel, Senate Committee on Executive Expenditures
Walter R. Sharp, College of City of New York
Robert R. Wilson, Duke University
Quincy Wright, University of Chicago

## COMMITTEE ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

Arthur N. Holcombe, Chairman, Harvard University R. A. Dahl, Yale University H. J. Heneman, Sarasota, Florida Eldon Johnson, University of Oregon Albert Lepawsky, University of Alabama Lyman Moore, City Manager, Portland, Maine Wallace Sayre, College of City of New York E. B. Schulz, Lehigh University Edward Weidner, Michigan State College Roland Young, Northwestern University

#### COMMITTEE ON POLITICAL PARTIES

E. E. Schattschneider, Chairman, Wesleyan University Thomas S. Barclay, Stanford University Clarence A. Berdahl, University of Illinois Hugh A. Bone, University of Washington Franklin L. Burdette, University of Maryland Paul T. David, Brookings Institution Merle Fainsod, Harvard University Bertram M. Gross, Council of Economic Advisers E. Allen Helms, Ohio State University E. M. Kirkpatrick, Department of State John W. Lederle, University of Michigan Fritz Morstein Marx, U. S. Bureau of the Budget Louise Overacker, Wellesley College Howard Penniman, Department of State Kirk H. Porter, State University of Iowa Jasper B. Shannon, University of Kentucky

#### RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Harold Lasswell, Chairman, Yale University
Samuel Beer, Harvard University
Taylor Cole, Duke University
William Ebenstein, Princeton University
Fitz Morstein Marx, U. S. Bureau of the Budget
Franz Neumann, Columbia University
Don Price, Public Administration Clearing House
C. Herman Pritchett, University of Chicago
Leo C. Rosten, Rand Corporation
Herbert Simon, Carnegie Institute of Technology

#### WASHINGTON OFFICE COMMITTEE

Roscoe C. Martin, Chairman, Syracuse University Charles Aikin, University of California (Berkeley) Rowland Egger, University of Virginia Luther Evans, Library of Congress Ferrel Heady, University of Michigan Harvey C. Mansfield, Ohio State University Bryce Wood, Swarthmore College

#### COMMITTEE ON LABOR-MANAGEMENT RELATIONS

Edward W. Carter, Chairman, University of Pennsylvania Phillips Bradley, University of Illinois
Lloyd Fisher, University of California (Berkeley)
John J. George, Rutgers University
Lee S. Greene, University of Tennessee
Joseph E. Kallenbach, University of Michigan
Max Kampelman, Bennington College
Louis C. Kesselman, University of Louisville
Avery Leiserson, University of Chicago
Rollin B. Posey, Northwestern University

#### COMMITTEE ON REGIONAL SOCIETIES

John E. Briggs, Chairman, University of Iowa
Donald M. Castleberry, San Francisco State College
William H. Edwards, Teachers College, Brockport, New York
Claudius O. Johnson, State College of Washington
Charles M. Kneier, University of Illinois
Boyd A. Martin, University of Idaho
Fritz Morstein Marx, U. S. Bureau of the Budget
Alden L. Powell, Louisiana State University
Mary Louise Rutherford, Department of Justice, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Jasper B. Shannon, University of Kentucky
Victoria Schuck, Mount Holyoke College

#### COMMITTEE ON LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS

Catheryn Seckler-Hudson, Chairman, The American University Eli E. Nobleman, Counsel, Senate Committee on Executive Expenditures Joseph M. Ray, University of Maryland Elmer Staats, U. S. Bureau of the Budget John J. Corson, Washington Post