STANDING COMMISSION OF THE INTERNATIONAL RED CROSS

The Standing Commission of the International Red Cross met in Belgrade on 14 June 1975. Under the chairmanship of Sir Geoffrey Newman-Morris (Australia), it was attended by Mr. George Aitken (Canada); Sir Evelyn Shuckburgh (United Kingdom); the two ICRC representatives, Mr. Eric Martin, ICRC President, and Mr. Pierre Gaillard on behalf of Mr. Roger Gallopin, President of the ICRC Executive Board; the two League representatives, Mr. Henrik Beer, Secretary General, for Mr. José Barroso, Chairman of the League Board of Governors, and Mr. Eustasio Villanueva Vadillo, League Treasurer General; Mrs. Nucho on behalf of Mrs. Farid Issa-el-Khoury (Lebanon); Mr. Ostalsky for Mrs. Nadejda Troyan (USSR); and Mr. T.W. Sloper, Technical Adviser.

The Commission first considered a report on the progress of the reappraisal of the role of the Red Cross. It then decided the award of a number of Henry Dunant Medals.

Several proposals for the improvement and simplification of International Conference resolutions were adopted. Proposals for amendments to the International Red Cross Statutes were discussed and referred to the next meeting.

The Commission received reports on current activities in a number of countries, and on the work of the second session of the Diplomatic Conference.

The next meeting of the Commission will be at Rabat, in October this year.