

APSA representative Maurice Woodard presents a plaque from the Committee on the Status of Blacks to his colleague Vincent Browne of Howard University for his service, leadership and scholarship.

insure that copies are so sent. The 1987 Richard F. Fenno, Jr. Prize will be announced and conferred at the 1987 Awards Ceremony of the Legislative Studies Section held during and in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association in Chicago.

The Fenno Prize honors the outstanding scholarship of Richard F. Fenno, Jr. of the University of Rochester, the leading contemporary analyst of legislative studies and the 1984-85 President of the American Political Science Association.

Kiewiet and McCubbins Recognized by Legislative Studies Section

At a special awards ceremony held on August 28 in conjunction with the American Political Science Association Annual Meeting in Washington, the Legislative Studies Section (LSS) of the APSA conferred the 1986 CQ Press Award, and announced the CQ prize committee for 1987.

The CO Press Award honors the outstanding paper in legislative politics pre-

886 PS Fall 1986

sented at the year's preceding APSA Annual Meeting. The 1986 winners honored were D. Roderick Kiewiet of the California Institute of Technology and Mathew McCubbins of the University of Texas, Austin, for their 1985 APSA paper, "Controlling the Agenda: Presidential and Congressional Advantage Over Appropriations." The prize was decided upon by an LSS committee chaired by Allan Kornberg of Duke University. Other members were Malcolm Jewell, University of Kentucky, and Herbert F. Weisberg, Ohio State University.

The CQ Press Award is given by the Legislative Studies Section each year to honor outstanding scholarship as reflected in the papers presented at each year's national meeting. Consideration for this prize is not limited to papers presented at panels organized by the Legislative Studies Section or at APSA Legislative Politics panels, but honors the best papers on legislative politics presented at any panel at the APSA meeting.

The 1987 CQ Press Award Committee is chaired by Anne H. Hopkins of the University of Tennessee. Other members are Jon R. Bond of Texas A&M University, and Harold D. Clarke of VPI & SU. The 1987 prize will be announced and conferred at the 1987 Awards Ceremony of the Legislative Studies Section held during and in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association in Chicago. It will honor the best paper in legislative politics delivered at the 1986 APSA Annual Meeting.

Parties Section Honors Epstein, Schlesinger, Eldersveld

At its annual meeting, the APSA Organized Section on Political Organizations and Parties instituted a program of annual awards for outstanding contributions to the field.

The award for the outstanding book was presented to Leon D. Epstein (Hilldale Professor of Political Science, University of Wisconsin/Madison) for his work, *Political Parties in Western Democracies*. Joseph A. Schlesinger (Professor of Political Science, Michigan State University) was recognized for his article, "On the Theory of Party Organization."

The award for lifetime achievement was presented to Samuel J. Eldersveld (Professor of Political Science, University of Michigan) for his body of work in political party organization. The awards were presented by Kenneth Janda (Professor of Political Science, Northwestern University), Gerald Pomper (Professor of Political Science, Rutgers), and John S. Jackson III (Dean of Liberal Arts, Southern Illinois University/Carbondale).

Policy Studies Awards Presented

The Policy Studies Organization and the Policy Studies Section of the American Political Science Association presented several awards at the Annual PSO Awards Luncheon on August 29, 1986, at the Cosmos Club in Washington, D.C. as part of the APSA Annual Meeting.

The Harold Lasswell Award was received



Leon D. Epstein of the University of Wisconsin-Madison was awarded the outstanding book award, accorded by the Section on Political Organizations and Parties, for his *Political Parties in Western Democracies.*



Marguerite Ross Barnett, Chancellor of the University of Missouri-St. Louis, is recognized by the Committee on the Status of Blacks for her outstanding achievements.

by Theodore Lowi of Cornell University as an outstanding scholar in contributing to our understanding of the substance and process of public policy. Previous recipients have included Yehezkel Dror, Aaron Wildavsky, and James Q. Wilson. The Hubert Humphrey Award was received by Jeane Kirkpatrick as an outstanding public policy practitioner. Previous recipients have included Ralph Huitt, Donna Shalala, and Alice Rivlin. The Donald Campbell Award was received by Elinor Ostrom as an outstanding methodological innovator in public policy studies. Previous recipients have included Duncan MacRae, Edward Quade, and Peter Rossi.

The Jeffrey Pressman Award was presented to Herman Boschken for the best article in the 1985-86 issue of the *Policy Studies Review.* The Theodore Lowi Award was presented to Stephen Elkin and Brian Cook for the best article in the 1985-86 issues of the *Policy Studies Journal.* The PSO Book Award was presented to Harvey Averch for the best policy studies book published in 1985-86. The PSO Conference Paper Award was presented to Kenneth Mejer