Panel and Paper Proposals Now Processed at APSA

APSA recently completed the first attempt at central processing of panel and paper proposals for the Annual Meeting. At the request of the Standing Committee on the Annual Meeting and the 1996 Program Committee, APSA received all proposals, sent acknowledgment cards, forwarded 4,800 proposals to 51 program division chairs, and set up the Annual Meeting database.

After extending the November 15th deadline by one week in order to accommodate the record volume of proposals, APSA assigned three graduate assistants and two full-time staff to organize the proposals and respond to questions via phone and e-mail.

In addition to easing the administrative burden of the Program Committee, central processing will allow APSA to develop statistics to assist in accurately monitoring the sustained growth of the Annual Meeting and APSA divisions.

The 1997 Annual Meeting will be held August 28–31 in Washington, DC at the Sheraton Washington Hotel and the Omni Shoreham Hotel. Registration for program participants begins immediately upon their acceptance on the program. Reservations for housing opens on March 1. See the advertisements in this issue for more information.

New Award Created and Named for APSA's First President

To honor extraordinary contributions to the profession and the Association, the APSA Council has created the Frank J. Goodnow Distinguished Service Award, named in honor of the first president of the Association.

Born in 1859, Goodnow was a product of Amherst College and Columbia University. In 1883, Goodnow was appointed to the position of lecturer in Columbia University's School of Political Science, where he was later appointed Eaton Professor of Public Law and Municipal Science at Columbia. From 1903 until 1905, Goodnow served as president of the American Political Science Association, making him one of only two APSA presidents to serve two terms. After resigning from Columbia in 1914, Goodnow became president of Johns Hopkins University and led a distinguished career of service to the profession until his death in 1939.

Known as the "father of American Administration," Goodnow won praise from peers like historian Charles A. Beard, who called Goodnow "the first scholar in the United States to recognize the immense importance of administration in modern society and to sketch the outlines of the field."

The Goodnow Award was created to honor the type of service to the profession that Frank Goodnow embodied. Goodnow was the first of many to devote extraordinary amounts of time, energy, and attention to building a dynamic, learned profession. The tradition of volunteerism in the political science com-



Frank J. Goodnow

munity begun by Frank Goodnow is celebrated by the award named in his honor.

Nominees for the Goodnow Award will be solicited in the future in the pages of *PS*. Winners will be chosen by the Administrative Committee of the APSA Council.

APSA Seeks Nominations for Educom Award

APSA has been invited by Educom, a nonprofit consortium of colleges, universities and other organizations dedicated to the transformation of higher education through the application of information technology, to become a partner society in its 1997 Educom Medal Awards Program.

The Educom Medal Awards Program, now in its third year, is designed to recognize an individual, either in the academic or corporate setting, who is transforming undergraduate education through information technology.

APSA will join professional societies in mechanical engineering, philosophy and geology in the 1997 awards program. Past partner societies include the American Chemical Society, Division of Chemical Education, the American Psychological Association, the Mathematical Association of America, the Modern Language Association, the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineering and the American Sociological Association.

Educom grants each winner \$2,500, a silver medal and a desk statue at its annual conference held in October, in addition to paying the travel costs for the winner to attend the awards ceremony.

President Elinor Ostrom is appointing a three member committee of political scientists who will review nominations for the award. If you would like to enter a nomination, or self-nomination, please send a letter detailing the nominee's contribution