THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: J. H. RUBINSTEIN Department of Mathematics

University of Melbourne Parkville, Victoria 3052, Australia

Secretary: D. ELLIOTT Department of Mathematics

University of Tasmania

Hobart, Tasmania 7001, Australia

Treasurer: B. D. JONES Department of Mathematics

University of Queensland Qld. 4072, Australia

Membership subscriptions Ordinary members: A\$55

(for 1992)

(or \$50 if paid before 1 January 1992)

New ordinary members: A\$27.50 Reciprocal members: A\$27.50 Reduced rate members: A\$10 Sustaining members: A\$110

Institutional members: A\$581 (this includes all publications)

Reciprocity agreements: Such agreements have been made with a number of other mathematical societies. Under the agreements, members of the other societies who are not normally resident in Australia may join the Australian Mathematical Society at the rate shown.

Membership and correspondence: Applications for membership, notice of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's GAZETTE, JOURNAL Series A, Series B, BULLETIN, and orders for back numbers should also be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

Members of the Society receive copies of the GAZETTE free, and may subscribe to any of the Society's research publications, the JOURNAL (Series A) for A\$25 per year, the JOURNAL (Series B) A\$18 per year, the BULLETIN A\$22. For reduced rate members the subscription rates are half those quoted.

OTHER PUBLICATIONS OF THE SOCIETY

The JOURNAL SERIES B. This series contains papers on applied mathematics. It is published in volumes comprising four parts, starting with Volume XIX Part 1, 1975. Four parts will be published in 1992; the price to non-members is A\$131.00 (US\$101.00) for 1992. Type-scripts for publications should be sent to the Editor, Professor E. O. Tuck, Department of Applied Mathematics, University of Adelaide, Adelaide, S. A. 5001, Australia.

The BULLETIN of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. It aims at quick publication of original research in all branches of mathematics. Two volumes of three numbers are published annually. The price to non-members is A\$196.00 (US\$151.00) for 1992. Each paper for publication should include an abstract and a 1991 Mathematics Subject Classification. Three copies of the typescript should be sent to the Editor, Dr. A. S. JONES, Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, Queensland 4072, Australia.

The GAZETTE started publication in 1974 and carries news items, mathematical articles of general interest, and articles on tertiary mathematics teaching. The price to non-members is A\$39.00 (US\$30.00) for 1992. Typescripts for publication should be sent to the Editor, Dr B. SIMS, Department of Mathematics, The University of Newcastle, N.S.W. 2308, Australia.

Editor of the Journal, Series A

J. R. J. Groves, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052

C. J. Ash—logic, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

 T. C. Brown—probability and statistics,
 Department of Mathematics,
 University of Western Australia,
 Nedlands, W.A. 6009

L. Caccetta—combinatorics, School of Mathematics and Computing, Curtin University of Technology, G.P.O. Box U 1987, Perth, W.A. 6001

E. N. Dancer—abstract
analysis, partial
differential equations,
Department of Mathematics,
Statistics and
Computing Science,
The University of
New England,
Armidale, N.S.W. 2351

P. G. Dodds—functional analysis, School of Information Science and Technology, The Flinders University of South Australia, G.P.O. Box 2100, Adelaide, S.A. 5001

Associate Editors

P. C. Fenton—complex analysis,
Department of Mathematics,
University of Otago,
P.O. Box 56,
Dunedin, New Zealand

H. Lausch—groups,Department of Mathematics,Monash University,Clayton, Victoria 3168

R. Lidl—algebra, Department of Mathematics, University of Tasmania, Box 252C, G.P.O., Hobart, Tasmania 7001

J. H. Loxton—number theory, School of Mathematics and Physics, Macquarie University, N.S.W. 2109

K. C. H. Mackenzie—
differential geometry,
Department of Pure
Mathematics,
University of Sheffield,
Sheffield, S3 7RH,
England

 B. Mond—operations research, programming, games,
 Department of Mathematics,
 La Trobe University,
 Bundoora, Victoria 3083 I. Raeburn—operator algebras, representation theory, Department of Mathematics, University of Newcastle, Newcastle, N.S.W. 2308

J. H. Rubinstein—topology, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052

P. Schultz—ring theory, Department of Mathematics, University of Western Australia, Nedlands, W.A. 6009

R. H. Street—categories,
 School of Mathematics
 and Physics,
 Macquarie University,
 N.S.W. 2109

P. G. Trotter—semigroups, Department of Mathematics, University of Tasmania, Box 252C, G.P.O., Hobart, Tasmania 7001

Assistant Editors

J. J. Koliha, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052 I. R. Aitchison, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052

Correspondence concerning the printing of papers after their acceptance for publication should be addressed to J. J. Koliha.

Copyright Statement

Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., to libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 27 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., c/-Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, Queensland 4072, Australia. Serial-fee code: 0263-6115/92 \$A2.00 + 0.00.