**Isabelle Thabault,** Deputy Chief, Housing and Civil Enforcement Section, Civil Rights Division, Department of Justice

Foreign Affairs Fellows

Craig Deare, Country Director (Mexico), Office of the Secretary of Defense, Department of Defense

**JoAnn Eberle,** Major, Brigade Operations Officer, Department of the Army

Naomi Freeman, International Trade Specialist, Office of Textiles and Apparel, Department of Commerce

Craig Gralley, Staff Member, National Intelligence Council

David Lessard, Directorate of Intelligence, Defense Intelligence Agency

Linda Luisi, Senior Political Analyst, Office of African and Latin American Analysis, Central Intelligence Agency

Charles Moseley, Lieutenant Colonel, USMC, Congressional Liaison Office, Department of the Navy

Steven Peterson, Major, Executive Officer, Military Intelligence Battalion (Germany), United States Army

Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellows (funded by the Institute of Medicine)

E. Andrew Bala, Assistant Professor of Health Services Management, Columbia School of Medicine, University of Missouri

K. Lynn Cates, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Case Western Reserve School of Medicine

James Fasules, Associate Professor of Pediatric Cardiology, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

**Peter Hasselbacher,** Professor of Medicine, University of Louisville

Celia Maxwell, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, Howard University

Marion Priest, Professor and Interim Chair of Emergency Medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Several of these Fellows have additionally been awarded Fellowships of Distinction. These Fellows include:

Heather Cabot, Joan Shorenstein Barone Congressional Fellow, named in memory of journalist Joan Shorenstein Barone, awarded to a television journalist of special merit;

Melissa Chen, awarded the APSA-MCI Communications Congressional Fellow, funded by MCI Communication Corporation, awarded to a political scientist or journalist with an analytical interest in communications;

**Diana Dwyre,** awarded the William A. Steiger Congressional Fellow, named in memory of Representative William A. Steiger, awarded to a political scientist of special merit;

Kim Trent, Congressional Quarterly Congressional Fellow, funded by Congressional Quarterly, Inc., awarded to a print journalist of special merit.

During the program orientation in November, Fellows will attend seminars with members of Congress, political scientists, journalists, lobbyists, and political analysts. In December, Fellows will assume positions as legislative aides in congressional offices. Thereafter, they will work on congressional staffs until the conclusion of the Fellowship year in mid-August. The Fellowship year includes a series of seminars which allow Fellows to meet with members of Congress, government officials, political scientists, and journalists to discuss contemporary political issues.

## Congressional Fellowship Program Names New Director

Jeffrey R. Biggs, a former Foreign Service officer and press secretary for former Speaker of the House Thomas S. Foley, has been named as new Director of the APSA Congressional Fellowship Program. Biggs, a member of the 1984–85 Congressional Fellowship Class, succeeds Lisa Pullen Foust, a 1989–90 Congressional Fellow.

Dr. Biggs has served as a senior advisor to the President's Office of

National Drug Control Policy, visiting fellow with the Freedom Forum, a nonprofit organization which focuses on First Amendment rights, and visiting scholar with the Congressional Research Service at the Library of Congress where he conducted research and participated in training parliamentary staff from the newly independent states of Eastern Europe. From 1985-1987, Biggs served as Deputy Chief of Mission at the U.S. Embassy, La Paz, Bolivia. He also served with the United States Information Service as Press Attaché at the U.S. Embassy in Lisbon, Portugal, and Information Officer at the U.S. Consulate General in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

After graduating with honors from Harvard University, he earned an M.A. in political science at Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand. Dr. Biggs holds a Ph.D. in American studies from The George Washington University where he concentrated in diplomatic history, political science, and American culture.

Dr. Biggs received a Fulbright Fellowship to New Zealand, a Dirksen Congressional Center Research Grant Award (1966), State Department Superior Honor Awards in 1982, 1984, 1987, and a State Department Meritorious Honor Award in 1984. He has published articles on Congress, foreign policy, and journalism, and has lectured to a broad variety of groups in the United States and abroad.

Now in its 45th year, the APSA Congressional Fellowship Program is designed to give mid-career political scientists, journalists, Federal employees, health fellows, and a limited number of foreign participants the opportunity to suspend their careers and work for a year as legislative aides in congressional offices.

## In Profile: Kirsten Gerstner

In her training as a political scientist, Kirsten Gerstner studied congressional politics, but, according to her, that was nothing like the experience of learning inside the offices and meeting rooms of the House. "I was surprised by a lot of things, but I was especially surprised by how