Philosophy of Science

Volume 26 1959

Reprinted with the permission of the original publisher by
Periodicals Service Company
Hudson, NY
2021

Printed on acid-free paper.

This reprint was reproduced from the best original edition copy available.

NOTE TO THE REPRINT EDITION:

In some cases full page advertisements which do not add to the scholarly value of this volume have been omitted.

As a result, some reprinted volumes may have irregular pagination.

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE

Official Journal of the Philosophy of Science Association



VOLUME 26, NUMBER 1

JANUARY 1959

PUBLISHED BY THE ST. CATHERINE PRESS, BRUGES, BELGIUM

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE

ORGAN OF THE PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

CO-SPONSORED BY THE INSTITUTE FOR THE UNITY OF SCIENCE AND BY
SECTION L OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE
ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

EDITORS

C. West Churchman, School of Business Administration, University of California, Berkeley 4, California

Lewis Zerby, Department of Philosophy, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan

GUSTAV BERGMANN, Department of Philosophy, Iowa State University, Iowa City, Iowa

ARTHUR BURKS, Department of Philosophy, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan

HENRY MARGENAU, Department of Philosophy, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut

ERNEST NAGEL, Department of Philosophy, Columbia University, New York, New York

CHESTER T. RUDDICK, Lake Erie College, Painesville, Ohio

BOOK REVIEWS:

J. S. Minas, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio

GOVERNING BOARD OF THE ASSOCIATION:

Curt J. Ducasse, *President* (term expires Dec. 31, 1960) Lewis Zerby, *Secretary-Treasurer* (1961)

CURT J. DUCASSE (1960)

ERNEST NAGEL (1961)

LEWIS ZERBY (1961)

THEODOSIUS DOBZHANSKY (1960)

RUDOLPH CARNAP (1958)

RUDOLPH CARNAP (1958)

ROBERT LINDSAY (1960)

S. S. STEVENS (1959)

GUSTAV BERGMANN (1959)

CHARLES MORRIS (1958)

C. WEST CHURCHMAN (1960)

EDITORIAL CONSULTANTS:

ERIC T. BELL C. J. DUCASSE I. LANGMUIR A. C. BENJAMIN HERBERT FEIGL CHARLES W. MORRIS L. VON BERTALANFFY R. A. FISHER OLIVER L. REISER NIELS BOHR R. W. GERARD D. Runes RUDOLF CARNAP J. B. S. HALDANE R. J. SEEGER W. J. CROZIER W. KOHLER M. S. VALLARTA

PAUL WEISS F. Z. ZWICKY

© 1959 by Philosophy of Science Association
PRINTED BY THE ST-CATHERINE PRESS LTD, BRUGES, BELGIUM

Subcription price \$6.00 per Volume. Single numbers \$2.00

CONTENTS

The Evolution of a Human Nature. Thomas Rhys Williams	1
On the Confirmation of Laws. Jared Darlington	14
Confirmation and Hypothesis. LAWRENCE RESNICK	25
Methodology of the Empirical Sciences. Alfred Morton Bork	31
Reflections on Philipp Frank's Philosophy of Science. CHARLES W. KEGLEY	35
Discussion: The Principle of Simplicity and Verifiability. G. Schlesinger	41
Rejoinder on the Principle of Simplicity. Lewis S. Feuer	43
Book Reviews	46
Books Received	60
Abstracts	62
Constitution	63
Membership List of Philosophy of Science Association	67