Elections Committee

Dorothy Buckton James, The American University, Chair Abraham F. Lowenthal, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars Raymond Tanter, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Benjamin E. Lippincott Award Committee

Andrew W. Hacker, Queens College, CUNY, Chair Alisdair MacIntyre, Boston University Judith N. Shklar, Harvard University

Ethnic and Cultural Pluralism Book Award Committee

Harry Pachon, Administrative Assistant to Rep. Roybal Pauline Stone, University of Michigan

Hanes Walton, Jr., Savannah State College, Chair

Also, Terence Ball, University of Minnesota, has replaced Benjamin Lippincott as a member and Chairperson of the 1980 Leo Strauss Dissertation Award Committee.

Political Scientists and the National Party Conventions— Comments

Two political scientists serving as delegates to the 1980 Democratic National Convention were not included in the list of delegates published in the Winter PS. The two are Betty Taymor, Director of the Program for Women in Political and Governmental Careers at Boston College. a member of the Democratic National Committee and long time party activist who served as a Delegate-at-Large from Massachusetts pledged to Mr. Kennedy: and Mel Haiely of Abilene Christian University, who served as a delegate from Texas. He was pledged to Mr. Carter. On political scientists at the 1980 Democratic Convention, Eugene Eidenberg, the new Director of the Democratic National Committee who was then serving in the Carter White House should have been included as one of the convention participants. Gary Nordlinger of Nordlinger Associates, a political scientist, also worked at the Convention on arrangements for tickets and credentials.

John Bibby, with respect to the Republicans, has noted that George Grassmuck of the University of Michigan and Malcolm Moos, the former President of the University of Minnesota, should also have been included as political scientists who played active roles in Republican National Conventions in the past.

Political Scientist College and University Presidents—An Update

John Brademas, a political scientist and former member of the United States House of Representatives from Indiana and Democratic Whip in the House, has recently been elected President of New York University. Two other political scientists currently serving as presidents who have not been previously noted are James M. Clark, President of the State University of New York at Cortland, and Donald Grunwald of Mercy College.

Since initiation of the effort to gather names of political scientist college and university presidents and chancellors, former and current, *PS* has published in various issues the names of 144 former and present political scientist presidents and chancellors of colleges and universities. Additional names will be welcome.



President-Elect John Brademas of New York University