Association News

ments, and expenditures. The Council may, at its pleasure, assign any surpluses from the general operating funds to the Trust and Development Fund.

No appropriation shall be made from the Fund's capital except (1) upon a request of the Council approved by at least four members of the Board of Trustees; or (2) if the Council so directs at a subsequent Council meeting, after hearing the position of the Board of Trustees. The Board shall act upon any request of the Council within thirty (30) days of the Council meeting at which the request is first made.

10. Other committees may be created, for stated periods and stipulated assignments. They shall report to the Council and thereupon be discharged. Unless specifically approved by the Association or the Council for that purpose, their reports shall not be deemed to state the views of the Association nor commit it in any way.

Article VIII: Resolutions

Resolutions may be proposed by any member of the Association under conditions prescribed by the Council. All resolutions shall be referred to the Council for its recommendations before submission to the vote of the Association at its Annual Business Meeting. Notice of this provision shall be given to the members of the Association in advance of the Annual Meeting. Whenever one-third or more of those present and voting at the Annual Business Meeting vote in support of any resolution, the question shall be submitted to the entire membership in a mailed secret ballot under conditions prescribed by the Council and shall be determined by a majority of those voting by mail on the question.

Article IX: Amendments

- 1. Amendments to this Constitution may be proposed by the Council or by fifty (50) members of the Association. The Council shall transmit all proposed amendments to the next Annual Business Meeting and may make recommendations on those amendments originating outside the Council.
- 2. The Council shall have any proposed amendment printed in an official publica-

tion of the Association prior to the next Annual Business Meeting. The Council shall then place the proposed amendment on the agenda of the Business Meeting. The Business Meeting may accept or reject the proposed amendment with or without further amendments to it. Within thirty (30) days the Executive Director shall submit amendments supported by at least forty percent of those members present and voting at the Annual Business Meeting to the entire membership for vote by mail ballot. Ballots must be returned within thirty (30) days to be counted. A proposed amendment shall be ratified if approved by a majority of those voting. An amendment shall take effect immediately upon ratification unless the amendment itself provides otherwise.

APSA Committees

Five Association Committees were not included in the list of Committees in the Winter *PS*. The Committees and their members are:

Board of Trustees APSA Trust and Development Fund

Term expiring at end of service as Treasurer:

William J. Keefe, University of Pittsburgh, Chair

Terms expiring December 31, 1983: Marver H. Bernstein, Brandeis University Aaron Wildavsky, University of California, Berkeley

Terms expiring December 31, 1982: Joyce Kallgren, University of California, Davis

John Kessel, Ohio State University

Terms expiring December 31, 1981: Vincent Browne, Howard University Betty Nesvold, San Diego State University

Rules Committee

Francine B. Frankel, University of Pennsylvania Malcolm E. Jewell, University of Kentucky Naomi B. Lynn, Kansas State University, Chair

Elections Committee

Dorothy Buckton James, The American University, Chair Abraham F. Lowenthal, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars Raymond Tanter, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Benjamin E. Lippincott Award Committee

Andrew W. Hacker, Queens College, CUNY, Chair Alisdair MacIntyre, Boston University Judith N. Shklar, Harvard University

Ethnic and Cultural Pluralism Book Award Committee

Harry Pachon, Administrative Assistant to Rep. Roybal Pauline Stone, University of Michigan Hanes Walton, Jr., Savannah State College, Chair

Also, Terence Ball, University of Minnesota, has replaced Benjamin Lippincott as a member and Chairperson of the 1980 Leo Strauss Dissertation Award Committee.

Political Scientists and the National Party Conventions— Comments

Two political scientists serving as delegates to the 1980 Democratic National Convention were not included in the list of delegates published in the Winter PS. The two are Betty Taymor, Director of the Program for Women in Political and Governmental Careers at Boston College. a member of the Democratic National Committee and long time party activist who served as a Delegate-at-Large from Massachusetts pledged to Mr. Kennedy: and Mel Haiely of Abilene Christian University, who served as a delegate from Texas. He was pledged to Mr. Carter. On political scientists at the 1980 Democratic Convention, Eugene Eidenberg, the new Director of the Democratic National Committee who was then serving in the Carter White House should have been included as one of the convention participants. Gary Nordlinger of Nordlinger Associates, a political scientist, also worked at the Convention on arrangements for tickets and credentials.

John Bibby, with respect to the Republicans, has noted that George Grassmuck of the University of Michigan and Malcolm Moos, the former President of the University of Minnesota, should also have been included as political scientists who played active roles in Republican National Conventions in the past.

Political Scientist College and University Presidents—An Update

John Brademas, a political scientist and former member of the United States House of Representatives from Indiana and Democratic Whip in the House, has recently been elected President of New York University. Two other political scientists currently serving as presidents who have not been previously noted are James M. Clark, President of the State University of New York at Cortland, and Donald Grunwald of Mercy College.

Since initiation of the effort to gather names of political scientist college and university presidents and chancellors, former and current, *PS* has published in various issues the names of 144 former and present political scientist presidents and chancellors of colleges and universities. Additional names will be welcome.



President-Elect John Brademas of New York University