President Riker thanked the staff and the Council for their support and work during the past year. Burnham moved that the Council thank Riker for his fine efforts, Sinclair seconded it, and there was a round of applause. The meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Project '87: Summer Faculty Workshops

Under the aegis of the Lilly Endowment, Project '87 offered a series of college faculty workshops in the summer of 1983. (See related article in Association News in this issue.) The titles of the seminars, their directors and participants are listed below.

The Constitution in Black America June 20-24, 1983

E. Wally Miles, Political Science, San Diego State University, Director

Participants

Suzanne White, Atlanta, Georgia

Gordon B. McKinney, History, Western Carolina University

Harvard Sitkoff, History, University of New Hampshire

James W. Johnson, History and Political Science, Alabama A&M University

B. K. Joshi, Albany, Georgia

Kristine L. Olsen, Political Science, California State University

Beeman C. Patterson, Social Sciences, Fayetteville State University

Norbert A. Kuntz, History, Saint Michael's College

David W. Carrithers, Political Science, University of Tennessee

Robert M. Kahn, Political Science, Ohio State University

Joseph Stewart, Jr., Political Science, Rice University

Marshall R. King, Political Science, Maryville College

Genevieve Miles, Political Science, Jarvis Christian College

Dorothy Drinkard-Hawkshawe, History and Politics, Bowie State College

Milton Lowe, History, Southern University Percy B. Murray, History and Social Science,

North Carolina Central University
Lawrence D. Hogan, History, Union College
Marsha Kass Marks, History and Political
Science, Alabama A&M University

Lorn S. Foster, Government and Black Studies, Pomona College

Irvin Brown, Public Administration, Atlanta University

Theophilus Herrington, Public Administration, Texas Southern University John Preston Ward, African-American Studies, University of Minnesota

Bureaucracy, Positive Government and Politicization: The 20th Century Challenge to Constitutionalism

July 11-15, 1983

Herman Belz, History, University of Maryland, Director

Participants

Kenneth O'Reilly, History, Marquette University

Adolph H. Grundman, History, Metropolitan State College

Paul L. Rosen, Political Science, Carleton University

Kenneth P. Ruscio, Political Science, University of Kansas

Donald L. Scruggs, History and Social Science, Stephens College

Steven R. Boyd, Behavioral and Cultural Science, University of Texas

Frank Annunziata, Rochester Institute of Technology

James F. Vivian, History, University of North Dakota

John S. Nelson, Political Science, University of Iowa

Thomas R. Morris, Political Science, University of Richmond

Kim Q. Hill, Public Affairs, University of Houston

Richard A. Harris, Political Science, Rutgers University, Camden

Michael E. Kirn, Political Science, Augustana College

Gayle Avant, Political Science, Baylor University

Timothy O'Neill, Political Science, Wellesley
College

Ruth H. Turner, Political Science, Hanover College

William E. Hudson, Political Science, Providence College

Michael G. Krukones, Political Science, Bellarmine College Stephen F. Johnson, Political Science, Univer-

sity of Alaska, Anchorage John J. Fox, History, Salem State College

Race and Slavery in the American Constitutional System

July 11-15, 1983

Don Fehrenbacher, History, Stanford University, Director

Participants

Peter A. Lawler, Political Science, Berry College

Howard Ross, Political Science, Eastern New Mexico University

Marshall Rachleff, History, Housantonic Community College

- Joseph H. Silver, Political Science, Kennesaw College
- David M. Dean, History, Frostburg State College
- Digambar Mishra, Political Science, Miles College
- M. Sammye Miller, History, Bowie State College
- Stephen Middleton, Social Sciences, Wilberforce University
- John R. Wennersten, Social Sciences, University of Maryland, Eastern Shore
- Wilbert H. Ahern, Social Sciences, University of Minnesota-Morris
- John David Smith, History, North Carolina State University
- R. S. Hill, Political Science, Marietta College Richard P. Young, Social and Behavioral Sciences, University of Texas
- James David Fairbanks, Social Sciences, University of Houston
- Mary C. Segers, Political Science, Rutgers University, Newark
- Charles Holmes, Political Science, Jackson State University
- Ashton Welsey Welch, History, Creighton University
- James A. Hodges, History, College of Wooster
- Yawsoon Sim, Political Science, Grambling State University
- Joseph M. Speakman, History, Montgomery County Community College
- Stephen D. Bodayla, History, Marycrest College
- Wesley Dick, History, Albion College

The Judicial Function Under the Constitution: Theory and Practice

August 8-12, 1983

Henry J. Abraham, Government and Foreign Affairs, University of Virginia, Director

Participants

William D. Pederson, Social Sciences, Louisiana State University in Shreveport

- Don Racheter, Political Science, Central College
- Michael W. Bowers, Political Science, University of Arizona
- Helen S. Ridley, Political Science, Kennesaw College
- John H. Culver, Political Science, California Polytechnic State University
- John R. Vile, Social Sciences, McNeese State University
- Sally Jo Vasicko, Political Science, Ball State University
- Hugh E. Jones, Government, Shippensburg State College
- Alvin Thornton, Political Science, Howard University
- Leslie Friedman Goldstein, Political Science, University of Delaware
- Joan S. Carver, Political Science, Jacksonville University
- Warren R. Wade, Political Science, North Park College
- Susette M. Talarico, Political Science, University of Georgia
- John Moeller, Political Science, Luther College Jack B. Schroeder, Political Science, University of Michigan
- John N. Short, Social and Behavioral Sciences, University of Arkansas
- Joyce Ann Pigge, Political Science, Bethany College
- David S. Mann, Political Science, College of Charleston
- Anne F. Lee, Political Science, University of Hawaii
- Mary Thornberry, Political Science, Davidson College
- Ruth Bamberger, Political Science, Drury College
- Gerald De Maio, Political Science, Baruch College, CUNY
- James E. Lennertz, Government and Law, Lafayette College
- Paul J. Weber, Political Science, University of Louisville
- Byron W. Daynes, Political Science, DePauw University