5. Council Meeting: Observers

- 5.1 Meetings of the Council shall be open to attendance by members of the Association.
- 5.2 Members attending Council meetings under Rule 5.1 are entitled to observe, but not participate in the Council's discussions.

6. Calendar of Deadlines

Constitutional Amendments

Monday, June 4, 5:00 p.m.

All proposed constitutional amendments together with the required fifty signatures shall be filed with the Executive Director.

Officers and Committee Reports

Monday, June 4, 5:00 p.m.

Reports of officers and committees must be filed with the Executive Director.

Resolutions

If proposers of resolutions file them with the Executive Director by Monday, June 4, they will be published in the summer PS.

Wednesday, August 1, 5:00 p.m.

All proposed resolutions must be filed with the Executive Director.

Membership Notice

By August 30, an official notice will be sent by the Elections Committee to all individuals whose membership will expire in the quarter prior to the election.

Nominations

If nominations are submitted prior to the Annual Meeting, they should be filed together with the required ten signatures with the Chairperson of the Elections Committee in care of the Association no less than four days prior to the Annual Meeting. If nominations are filed at the Annual Meeting, they must be filed with the Chairperson of the Elections Committee, at the APSA Office at the convention hotel, according to the Constitution, by at least twenty-four hours prior to the Annual Business Meeting.

7. 1979 Annual Business Meeting

Sunday, September 21, 4:15-6:30 p.m.* Business Meeting Order of Business

- I. Constitutional Amendments
- II. Nomination of Officers
- III. Resolutions

- IV. Certification of Nominees by the Election Committee
- V. Report of the Treasurer

Sponsors of candidates, resolutions, amendments, and other matters to be attended to at the business meeting are encouraged, but not required, to meet with the presiding officer in the meeting room one-half hour ahead of time to facilitate the flow of business.

1979-80 APSA Black Graduate Fellowships

The Association has announced winners in the competition for the 1979-80 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include six fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1979-80 to attend the university of their choice and four non-funded fellows. The non-funded fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

The fellows were chosen by the Fellowship Selection Committee composed of Robert Martin, Howard University, Chairman; Augustus Adair, Morgan State University; and Ed Jackson, Howard University.

Funded Fellows

Walter R. Mebane Harvard University

Ronald L. Allen University of Pennsylvania

Bridget M. Depland Dillard University

Lawrence W. Hamilton Fisk University

Suzanne M. Mayo Grambling State University

Darrell C. McKnight Texas Southern University

Non-Funded Fellows

Mary J. Jackson Mississippi Valley State University

Sheila W. Quarterman The American University

Anita M. Thomas
The Pennsylvania State University

Evelyn E. Brown Cheyney State College

An open forum with candidates for APSA offices will be held at 11:45 a.m. on Friday, August 31.

Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced five winners in the national competition for the 1979-80 Congressional Fellowship Program.

^{*}If necessary, a second Business Meeting will be held at 11:45 a.m. on Monday, September 3.

The winners—three political scientists and two journalists—will come to the Nation's Capital for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and members of the House of Representatives.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants in the 1979-80 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, Johnson Health Policy Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a three-week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about December 1, 1979. The Program ends August 15, 1980.

The five winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

1979-80 Congressional Fellows

Political Scientists

James E. Campbell, Ph.D. Candidate Syracuse University

Gary Copeland, Ph.D. Candidate, University of Iowa

Martin Machowsky, Ph.D. Candidate Washington University

Journalists

Eric Black, Reporter Minneapolis Tribune

Geneva Overholser Freelance Reporter, Paris

Political Scientists Elected to Public Office in the United States

PS is publishing the following list of political scientists who currently or formerly served in elected public office. Additions and/or corrections to the list will be welcome.

I. Present

NATIONAL

Senate

Mark O. Hatfield, Oregon, 1967-Daniel Patrick Moynihan, New York, 1977-John G. Tower, Texas, 1961-

House of Representatives

David Bowen, Mississippi, 1973-John Brademas, Indiana, 1959-Richard B. Cheney, Wyoming, 1979-Andrew Maguire, New Jersey, 1975-William Marshall, California, 1979-Phil Sharp, Indiana, 1975-Stephen J. Solarz, New York, 1975-William M. Thomas, California, 1979-Howard E. Wolpe, Michigan, 1979-

STATE

State Legislature: Upper House

David G. Berger, Wisconsin, 1974-Henry E. Braden, IV, Louisiana, 1978-Charles J. Curron, Ohio, 1979-Robert V. Daniels, Vermont, 1973-Lawrence J. DeNardis, Connecticut, 1971-William T. Doyle, Vermont, 1969-Helen R. Marvin, North Carolina, 1979-Richard D. Marvel, Nebraska, 1951-55, 1959-Katherine Ann Hegan Sabo, North Carolina, 1974-

John G. Schmitz, California, 1978-Samuel W. Speck, Ohio, 1977-

State Legislature: Lower House

Elizabeth L. Cox, New Jersey, 1971-Harold R. Cox, Maine, 1975-Peter Crossland, Ohio, 1973-Lee W. Farnsworth, Utah, 1975-Lewis P. Fickett, Jr., Virginia, 1974-Peter Goudinoff, Arizona, 1977-George W. Grayson, Virginia, 1974-Robert A. Holmes, Georgia, 1975-Robert Johnston, Arkansas, 1973-Nancy Kornblith Kopp, Maryland, 1975-Mordeaci Lee, Wisconsin, 1977-Stephen V. Monsma, Michigan, 1979-William P. Robinson, Sr., Virginia, 1970-David C. Schwartz, New Jersey, 1978-James A. Sheets, Massachusetts, 1975-John W. Simon, Maine, 1978-James W. Wahner, Wisconsin, 1970-Henry Wilkins, III, Arkansas, 1972-

State Treasurer

James I. Spainhower, Missouri, 1973-Jesse M. Unruh, California, 1974-

LOCAL

County Council

Jack D. Edwards, James City County, Virginia, 1972-

Parris N. Glendening, Prince George's County, Maryland, 1974-

Conrad Joyner, Pima County, Arizona, 1972-Ronald E. Weber, Monroe County, Indiana, 1978-

City Council

Roger C. Anderson, Bowling Green, Ohio, 1976-Kathleen L. Barber, Shaker Heights, Ohio, 1975-Charles A. Barrell, Bowling Green, Ohio, 1966-