

Black Women in the Profession and Women's Caucus for Political Science Reception honoring black women in the profession. From right to left: Katie Tyler, Brandeis University; Maria Niles, University of Chicago; Patricia A. Garcia-Monet, Rice University; Michelle Boyd, Northwestern University; Georgia Persons, Georgia Institute of Technology; LaVonna Blair, Rice University; Toni-Michelle Travis, George Mason University; and Tabatha Robinson, Northwestern University.

ence departmental chairpersons who are asked to make it available to their faculty.

Related Groups

Always an integral and exciting element of the Annual Meeting, Related Group Organizers met with APSA officers and staff for the first of what will become annual events. The informal session offered Related Group organizers an open forum to address problems and opportunities faced when putting together their group programs.

Large Audiences Drawn to 1995 Panels

Despite sunny skies, mild temperatures, and the Chicago Jazz Festival, over 650 panels at the 1995 Annual Meeting attracted consistently high attendance.

Among the program divisions,

five led average weighted attendance: Foundations of Political Theory [45.1] organized by Stephen K. White of Virginia Tech; International Political Economy [42.9] organized by Louis W. Pauly of the University of Toronto; Politics and Literature [42.3] organized by Diana J. Schaub of Loyola College; Elections and Electoral Behavior [38.9] organized by Michael B. MacKuen of the University of Missouri, St. Louis; and Political Economy [37.1] organized by Barry Weingast of Stanford University.

Among groups of panels organized by related groups, those drawing the highest attendance included: the Association for the Study of Nationalities [44.2] organized by Lowell W. Barrington of the University of Michigan; The Claremont Institute [34.1] organized by Douglas Jeffrey and Julie A. Kessler; Conference Group on the Middle East [32.1] organized by Louis J. Cantori at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County;

and the Eric Voegelin Society [31.9] organized by Ellis Sandoz of Louisiana State University.

The theme of the meeting, Liberalism at Century's End, was the topic at eight of the ten most highly attended panels. The largest audience recorded [269] was drawn by a roundtable, The End of Liberalism? Presidential Leadership and the 1994 Midterm Elections. The roundtable featured Stanley Renshon of the City University of New York, William Kristol, Editor of The Standard, and Stephen Wayne of Georgetown University.

Second in attendance was the roundtable, Looking Back on Theodore Lowi's The End of Liberalism, chaired by Stephen Skowronek of Yale University. Participants included Robert Dahl of Yale University, Margaret Weir of the Brookings Institution, Ira Katznelson of Columbia University, Karen Orren of UCLA, and Theodore Lowi of Cornell University.

The largest audience at a panel



Alan Rosenthal receives the 1995 Charles E. Merriam Award from Program Co-Chair Mary Fainsod Katzenstein. Katzenstein hosted the Presentation of Awards Ceremony with her Program Co-Chair Peter J. Katzenstein.

with a paper presented was Liberalism and the American Political Condition, chaired by Jane Mansbridge of Northwestern University. The paper presented was authored by Michael Sandel of Harvard University, and discussed by Richard Rorty of the University of Virginia.

Other "top ten" panels included Liberalism and Its Alternative in International Relations: Are Paradigmatic and Methodological Debates Obsolete? (organized by International Political Economy); The Critique of Liberalism at Century's End and Roundtable on Nietzsche and Liberalism (organized by Foundations of Political Theory); and Roundtable on Trust as a Political Variable (organized by Political Economy.)

Association Distributes Annual Awards

The 1995 APSA Awards Ceremony, held August 31, featured a slate of 19 awards, including the

presentation of one new and one revived award. Robert D. Putnam, Harvard University, was selected as winner of the inaugural Ithiel de

Sola Pool Award and Lectureship given to a scholar exploring the implications of research on issues of politics in a global society and evoking the broad range of scholarship pursued by Ithiel de Sola Pool. On September 1, Putnam delivered the first of what will be triennial lectures. Entitled "Tuning In, Tuning Out: The Strange Disappearance of Social Capital in America," the piece appears in this issue of PS. The Charles E. Merriam Award, given for the first time since 1987, was presented to Alan Rosenthal of Rutgers University. The award honors a scholar whose published work and career represents a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research. Merriam Award Committee chair Twiley Barker, University of Illinois-Chicago noted "this is a career award and Alan's career reflects, in a profound way, the critical attributes that characterized Merriam's work. . . . " The revived Merriam Award will be presented on a biennial basis.

Seven dissertation prizes were presented at the Awards Ceremony. Included among the winners were two recent University of Chicago Ph.Ds. David Pizza, University of Chicago, was named winner of the William Anderson Award in



Winners of the Franklin L. Burdette/Pi Sigma Alpha Award, Barry Weingast (I) and Kenneth Schultz (r) with committee chair Robert S. Erikson.

December 1995 757