Nobelist Series Continues in New York

Jim Alt, Harvard University, Margaret Levi, University of Washington, and Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University

Three further sessions of "The Impact of Economics on Political Science: A Conversation with Several Nobelists" took place at the Russell Sage Foundation in New York between November 13 and November 18, 1997. The format followed that begun at the last APSA Annual Meeting, where the ideas of James Buchanan, Douglass North, and Herbert Simon were discussed by Vincent Ostrom, Thomas Schwartz, Barbara Geddes, Robert Keohane, Robert Goodin, and Bryan Jones.

The November sessions considered the contributions of Kenneth Arrow, Gary Becker, and Reinhard Selten. Papers were presented by Norman Frohlich and Joe Oppenheimer, Norman Schofield, Russell Hardin, Ronald Rogowski, David Laitin, and Kenneth Shepsle. Covered topics ranged from advances in preference and belief aggregation through uncertainty, information, rationality and strategy to interests and interest group competition, with substantive applications including ethnicity, identity, and discrimination.

The series was intended to begin an exchange between some Nobelists, explaining what they thought had affected the discipline of political science, and some political scientists, describing what they thought had and had not come in to the discipline. Remarkably, it turned into a well-integrated and consistent set of contributions to what can best be called a massive reworking of economics' neoclassical paradigm by scholars dissatisfied with its assumptions as a basis for analyzing human behavior. That Simon's challenge to scholars to build rational models with empirically-based behavioral foundations resonates with the work of other social scientists might come as no surprise to those familiar with North's work on transactions costs or Buchanan's on political structure and externalities, but the questions of framing, information, and values

and their relationship with rationality were equally central elements in the discussions of Arrow, Becker, and Selten. This high degree of communality and consistency across the contributions of so many distinguished scholars has encouraged the organizers to edit the papers and responses into a volume provisionally entitled "Taking Economics Seriously: Conversations with Nobelists on Economics and Political Science."

The organizers would like to take the opportunity to thank once again the American Political Science Association and the Russell Sage Foundation for their generous support in making this series of conversations possible.

Mellon Foundation Supports PROceedings

The Mellon Foundation has awarded a planning grant to APSA to support the hiring of several consultants to critique APSA's project to place Annual Meeting papers online and to assist in making the project self-supporting as soon as possible. Bill Ball of The College of New Jersey is the principal investigator and the director of the project,

Recent Contributors to APSA Awards and Programs October - January

Robert B. Alexander Robert H. Bates Paul Allen Beck Alice R. Brown Michael P. Canning Pamela |. Conover Thomas E. Cronin Donald W. Crowley Robert A. Dahl **Eugene Davidson Roger Davidson** Bradley F. Dyke Richard F. Fenno, Jr. Luis Ricardo Fraga Beth C. Fuchs Henry C. Galant Betty Glad Harvey Glickman Esther S. Goldstein John P. Harrod Robert J-P. Hauck Paul S. Herrnson Donald V. Hester John F. Hoadley Anne H. Hopkins

J. Woodford Howard **Robert Huckfelt** M. Kent lennings Loch K. Johnson Stanley Kelly Jr. Robert O. Keohane Francis J. Keenan Dwight C. Kiel Jason F. Kirksey Allan Kornberg Paul F. Kromer Seldon M. Kruger Joseph LaPalombara Logan A. Lee Avery Leiserson Margaret Levi Ann Chih Lin Burdett A. Loomis **Robert Lorish** Carol R. Lubin **Dale Rogers Marshall** Susan McAndrew Warren E. Miller Stuart S. Nagel

Kelly D. Patterson Susan J. Pharr John J. Pitney Lucian W. Pye Leroy N. Rieselbach Randall B. Ripley Marie B. Rosenberg Barry S. Rundquist H.P. Secher Roberta S. Sigel Howard Silver Albert Somit Raphael |. Sonenshein John D. Sprague loseph Stewart, Ir. Sybil L. Stokes Alvin B. Tillery r James A. Thurber Charls E. Walker Andreas Wesserle lennifer Widner David Wilsford John E. Yang Nancy H. Zingale

We Say Thank You!