## Notices / Avis

## The Macpherson Prize

The Macpherson Prize, established in honour of Crawford Brough Macpherson (1911-1987), internationally renowned political theorist, will be awarded for the first time in 1994. The prize, to which is attached a monetary award in the amount of \$750.00, will be awarded biennially to the author of the best book published in English or French in political theory in the preceding two-year period. The award-winning book must be single-authored and will be selected by the Board of Directors of the Canadian Political Science Association, upon the recommendation of the Prize Jury. No edited texts, textbooks or collections of essays will be considered. The author must be either a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident (landed immigrant) who resides in Canada. The Macpherson Prize is sponsored by the University of Toronto Press Inc. Individuals who have published a book in 1992 or 1993 which is eligible for the prize should ensure that their publishers forward one copy of the book by December 10, 1993, to each of: (1) Macpherson Prize Jury, The Canadian Political Science Association, Suite 205, 1 Stewart Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6H7; (2) Macpherson Prize Jury, Professor Jane Jenson, 24 Horne Road, Belmont, Massachusetts, USA 02178; (3) Macpherson Prize Jury, Professor Thomas J. Lewis, Department of Political Science, McMaster University, 1280 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario L8S 4M4; and (4) Macpherson Prize Jury, Professor Duff Spafford, Department of Political Studies, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 0W0.

## Le Prix Macpherson

Le Prix Macpherson a été créé en hommage à Crawford Brough Macpherson (1911-1987), le grand spécialiste de la théorie politique dont la réputation dépassait nos frontières. L'Association décernera le Prix Macpherson, d'une valeur de 750 \$, pour la première fois en 1994 et par la suite à tous les deux ans à l'auteur ou l'auteure du meilleur livre publié en français ou en anglais sur un sujet traitant de la théorie politique au cours de la période correspondante de deux ans. Le Conseil d'administration de l'Association canadienne de science politique désignera le lauréat ou la lauréate à la suite d'une recommandation du