Association News

Philip Converse Nominated To Be President-Elect of APSA

Philip E. Converse of the University of Michigan has been nominated presidentelect of APSA for 1982-83. He would automatically become APSA's president the subsequent year under the Association's constitution. The nomination was made by the 1982 Nominating Committee which was appointed by Association president Seymour Martin Lipset and past president Charles E. Lindblom.

The Nominating Committee also slated three vice-presidential nominees, Philippe C. Schmitter of the University of Chicago and the European University Institute, Judith N. Shklar of Harvard University, and Roberta Sigel of Rutgers University. Walter Murphy of Princeton University was recommended to be secretary for 1982-83.

Eight new members of the 16-member Council were also nominated by the committee: Twiley Barker of the University of Illinois at Chicago Circle, Walter Dean Burnham of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Suzanne Weaver Garment of the *Wall Street Journal*, Ole R. Holsti of Duke University, Gerald H. Kramer of California Institute of Technology, Guillermo O'Donnell of Instituto Universitario de Pesquisas do Rio de Janeiro, Michael Walzer of the Institute of Advanced Study, and Philip Williams of Nuffield College of Oxford University.

Under APSA's constitution these nominations are subject to the vote of those members of the Association attending the Annual Business meeting. If there is a contest for any elected office, an election will be conducted by mail ballot within 30 days following the Annual Business meeting. The 1982 Annual Business meeting rules and the constitution are printed in the spring 1982 issue of *PS* on pp. 277-288. The rules require that any nominations in addition to those made by the Nominating Committee must be offered in writing and postmarked no later than seven days prior to the close of the Annual Meeting (that is, August 30). Specific procedures for offering additional nominations are indicated in the Annual Business meeting rules.

The current president-elect of APSA is William Riker who will become president of the Association after the 1982 Annual Meeting.

The members of the 1982 Nominating Committee are: David R. Mayhew of Yale University (chair), Lewis Anthony Dexter, Adam Przeworski of the University of Chicago, Ronald Rogowski of the University of California at Los Angeles, Stanley Rothman of Smith College, and Mildred A. Schwartz of the University of Illinois at Chicago Circle.

Council Establishes Ralph J. Bunche Award

The APSA Council approved several changes in the APSA awards at its May 7 meeting, including renaming the Ethnic and Cultural Pluralism Award the Ralph J. Bunche award. Bunche is a former president of APSA and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize.

The award is given for the best scholarly work in political science which has been published within the last five years and which explores an aspect of ethnic and cultural pluralism. The 1981 winner was Margaret Ross Barnett of the Teachers College of Columbia University.

480 *PS* Summer 1982

The Council also voted to activate the Hubert H. Humphrey award. Earnings from the Kammerer Fund will be used to provide a \$500 cash prize for each recipient.

The APSA Council also approved raising the Kammerer Book award to \$1,000 and setting the prize for all dissertation awards at \$250. Also, certificates will be printed for all award winners.

In other business, the vice-president of the International Political Science Association (IPSA), Richard Merritt, discussed ways to strengthen the ties between APSA and the international association. In particular, he suggested that APSA take an interest in having the 1988 IPSA World Congress in the United States. The APSA Council agreed to discuss this matter at a later meeting.

The past chair of the Committee on the Status of Chicanos, Raymond Sandoval, asked the APSA Council to clarify the meaning of the *Personnel Service News-letter*'s statement on affirmative action:

It shall be Association policy to support the principles of affirmative action and to urge political science departments to aggressively pursue affirmative action programs and policies



Council member Raymond Wolfinger of the University of California, Berkeley, chats during a break with president-elect William Riker of the University of Rochester at the May Council meeting.



Former Congressional Fellow Karl Kindel (left) of the Department of Commerce served with Fred Holborn of Johns Hopkins School for Advanced International Studies on the selection committee for Federal Fellows.

with regard to blacks, chicanos, women and other minorities (*PS*, Vol. VIII, No. 1, Winter 1975, pp. 44-45).

The Council voted to direct the Professional Ethics, Rights and Freedoms Committee to draft a statement outlining the APSA affirmative action policy.

The complete minutes of the May Council meeting are reprinted in the *PS* Appendix of this issue \Box

Committee on Ethics Reviews Grievances

The Committee on Professional Ethics, Rights and Freedoms met at the University of California, Berkeley, for an all-day meeting on June 25, to review grievances from political scientists and to deliberate on other issues facing the committee.

The committee completed a full review of three cases and thanked the special representatives who worked to settle the grievances and to collect information on the cases for the committee. The special representatives included: Francis Rourke of Johns Hopkins University, Charles Hadley of the University of New Orleans, Han Park of the University of Georgia,