## NEW REGULATIONS CONCERNING SCIENTIFIC WORK IN GREENLAND, 1949

[From Kundgorelser vedrorende Gronlands Styrelse, 1949, Nr. 2, p. 143.]

## Translation:

- "Kommissionen for videnskabelige undersøgelser i Grønland [The Committee for Scientific Investigations in Greenland] at their meeting on 28 March 1949 have decided the following:
- "I. The Committee considers that all applications for permission to carry out scientific work in Greenland should be laid before the Committee before the administration makes a decision concerning the application.
- "2. In future, where requests for permission to work in Greenland from foreign scientists are concerned, the Committee will consider the following points when deciding whether to give their approval:
- "(a) The Committee will only give their approval if the applicant is a scientist who is suitably qualified, and if he has received support for his application from the appropriate scientific institutions in his own country.
- "(b) Approval will not be given in cases where the proposed programme would duplicate work that is being carried out by Danish scientists in Greenland, or where Danish work can be expected within a reasonable period on the scientific problems stated in the application.
- "(c) Without otherwise wishing to make any distinction between the countries from which applications are made the Committee wish to point out that applications from other Scandinavian countries will probably receive more favourable consideration."

## APPOINTMENT OF A PLACE-NAME COMMITTEE FOR GREENLAND, 1949

[From Tjenestemeddelelser vedrorende Gronlands Styrelse, 1949, Nr. 2, p. 79, and Kundgorelser vedrorende Gronlands Styrelse, 1949, Nr. 2, p. 144.

## Translation:

"The Prime Minister has appointed a Place-name Committee for Greenland, 11 April 1949.

"The following members have been appointed:

Director Eske Brun, chairman.
Professor dr.phil. N. E. Nørlund, Geodætisk institut.
Oberst L. Bruhn, Geodætisk institut.
Kaptajn S. Wedell-Wedellsborg, Geodætisk institut.
Docent dr.phil. Erik Holtved.
Kontorchef Gunnar Knudsen.
Dr.phil. Lauge Koch.
Lektor, provst Aage Bugge.
Provst C. Schultz-Lorentzen."

PR