Translation:

"1. A place-name committee for Greenland is hereby set up, the members of which are appointed by the Prime Minister.

"2. The committee will consider all existing place-names in Greenland and authorise each in the form which is agreed by the members of the committee.

"3. Every proposal for naming a feature in Greenland must be submitted with the relevant information to the committee, which will decide whether the proposed name shall be authorised.

"4. The notice of 1 February 1934 concerning the appointment of a placename committee for Greenland and naming of Greenland features is hereby cancelled.

"Statsministeriet, Grønlands Styrelse, 11 April 1949."

THE REVISED DANISH ORTHOGRAPHY, 1948

[The information concerning Danish orthographic changes is summarised from Kundgorelser vedrorende Gronlands Styrelse, 1948, Nr. 3, p. 49-52; Nr. 5, p. 70.]

In March 1948 the Danish Ministry of Education introduced a revised orthography for use in all establishments under its control. This revised orthography, best described as an approach towards Norwegian and Swedish usage, was later adopted by other departments and was authorised by the Danish Government for official use on 1 October 1948. As yet, this orthography is not widely accepted in Denmark; some newspapers and publishers use the old forms, some the new.

The most important change is that common nouns, formerly written with an initial capital, now have a small initial letter. Proper names including place-names retain the initial capital. Derivative forms retain the small initial letter as before: engelsk, englænder. The position with regard to proper names consisting of one or more nouns with a pronoun, adjective or common noun (generic names) remains vague. Generally, if the proper name begins with the definite article this is written with a capital: Den gronlandske Lods. In most Greenland place-names the specific and generic parts are spelt as one word: Danmarkshavn. Where this is not the case all component words continue to have initial capitals (Prins Christians Sund, Arsuk Fjord), although it is in fact left to the writer's discretion to write Grønlands Styrelse or Grønlands styrelse, Disko Bugt or Disko bugt.

A further change is that the former double *a*, *aa* is now to be written *a* in all official documents: Godthåb, Julianehåb. However, foreign place-names (e.g. Saar, Maastricht) are to retain the double *aa* in official documents.

J. G. ELBO

626